PSA: NEW HUGE PASSWORD DUMP. Are You One Of The 501,636,842 Earth Dwellers That Have Been Pwn3d?! You Might Want To Find Out. READ ME.

in #infosec6 years ago

I'm sure that some of you may know of the service "Have I Been Pwned?," which allows you to check whether or not you've been compromised via a data breach with a service that you use.

Well, that massive database just hit puberty and embraced a little growth spurt! They're now clocking in 9 gigs worth of half of a billion passwords. NASTY.

Go check to see if you're a victim, and if you are, CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD.

Here's the full write up and the low down by Troy Hunt: https://www.troyhunt.com/ive-just-launched-pwned-passwords-version-2/

SHA-1 Hashed lists can be downloaded here via torrent:

Dump v2 (ORDERED BY USE PREVALENCE) ~8.8GB: https://downloads.pwnedpasswords.com/passwords/pwned-passwords-2.0.txt.7z.torrent

SHA-1 hash of 7z file from torrent above: c267424e7d2bb5b10adff4d776fa14b0967bf0cc

Dump v2 (ORDERED BY HASH) ~9.0GB: https://downloads.pwnedpasswords.com/passwords/pwned-passwords-ordered-2.0.txt.7z.torrent

SHA-1 hash of 7z file from torrent above: 87437926c6293d034a259a2b86a2d077e7fd5a63

If you feel so inclined and appreciate Troy's work, he has a donation page located here: https://haveibeenpwned.com/Donate

I was just discussing this with a friend and thought I'd drop the news here for you guys!

Enjoy! And stay safe out there in internet land!

Sort:  

My future brother in law just told me about this site a few weeks ago, had one of my old emails that apparently was compromised pop up when we looked, but that's no surprise considering I used it for tons of spam bullshit. Hope the rest of you don't find yourselves on there :)

The DB just grew pretty massively. Got nasssssty.

Yeah, I just actually double checked to be sure, but I'm still good thankfully. Probably a good thing that I don't do shit on the internet besides playing video games, going on social media and reading novels.

Throwaway e-mails are lifesavers for many things.

Praise be to our lord and savior, gmail.

@deadspace. Thank a lot for ur supportive words it just to proof what @matt-a, dat mean we are in the right place were leaders train for tomorrow, kindly visit me one day. Thanks

Great post.

Please see my post @riefwalker and give upvote if you like, i am very thankfull for that. Best regards.

@matt-a. Thanks a million for the words password dump, i have learn my lesson from it. U are gift to us for this, i kindly request for u blessing all day long. Thanks @matt-a

thanks Matt!!

could you provide more information about it.

Just putting this out there, as I really don't know about the technicalities of this. But, is it possible that it is that site itself which is stealing passwords, and just going on it is somehow compromising you?

Cg

That is another nice point we must take note too. @cryptgee. Thanks a lot and i love to follow u, and kindly take note of ur servant @princedone.

please continue i want know more

Read what I linked.

great matt thx :)

THANK YOU SO SO MUCH MAN!!! I AM VERY VERY THANKFUL AND I PROMISE I WILL PAY YOU BACK ONE DAY! MUCH LOVE FROM BOSNIA MAN!!!

Good share for security @matt-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58102.40
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26