You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Speech Siege

in #informationwar6 years ago

Free speech is a double edged sword, and a basic human right.

I continuously juggle my stance between the ideals in my mind in which I aspire to believe that everyone must be allowed to say their piece if I was to be allowed my piece, and the reality of the world in which 'free speech' is mostly afforded to those with power. Those without power, the minorities who are marginalized and disenfranchised, are not afforded a real sense of 'free speech'. They are ignored, muted, misinterpreted, gentrified, parodied, and robbed off their voices.

Great article, as always, @zyx066. I agree entirely for I, too, aspire for free speech to be a universal truth, in an ideal world.

Sort:  

Yes, I know; it's not always easy to bring this into practice, especially in a world where the distribution of freedoms is as skewed as it is in ours... But isn't that almost always how it goes? Doing the right thing is almost never the easy thing ;-)

Great comment, as always, @veryspider, thank you! 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64