You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I have watched Steem and all Alts continuously go down for awhile now...

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

I don't use it as money. I do not have a bank account, won't KYC, and have no means of selling Steem as a result. I don't care. Recently about $800 or so of my liquid was taken after I mistakenly linked my key. I can still see it in the account that took it LOL.

I didn't even ask for it back.

Steem has far more value to me than as money. It brings people here, and enables them to fund actual government services via voting, while discussing them, all voluntarily and verifiably. Steem is a foundation for what I wrote about in the 90s: the Intersenate,a non-geographically based entity comprised of people that propose and discuss issues of import to them, and take action to resolve them via liquid democracy, without coercion.

But Steem's better, because it can fund those resolutions. I am observing how politics still fucks that up. Flaggots, taxes, stake-weighting, and lies all impact us here, even on the blockchain where plagiarism and scams are provable. It's fascinating, and IMHO worth more than any amount of money.

The horrible concentration of stake closely resembles how fiat banksters control wider society, and Steem will either die, solve that problem, or remain a coulda been. It's not propitious that Steem began with a ninjamine scheme, but that's IRL.

We'll see what comes of Steem in due time. I'm in it for the potential to craft communities that can run their lives outside their geographic overlords range, and the free speech, the discourse necessary to that.

Also, selling at this or similar prices doesn't lock in profits. It locks in losses. You don't take a loss until you sell at a loss. Don't buy high and sell low. Just sayin'...

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59471.57
ETH 2618.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40