You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just a thought...Does SpaceX exist to "confirm" all the standard Einsteinian cosmology and other hokum?

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

I can get behind being suspicious of sources, like the USG, that are notorious liars. It is the only reasonable way to proceed with known liars.

However, I can't get behind dismissing science that is simply not understood, or because it conflicts with dogma or ideology. I don't dismiss your personal faith, and indeed account it a good - even if I don't share it. I strongly support your right to speak your mind. I don't recommend speaking your mind on matters that you aren't confident (superably) you fully comprehend, at least insofar as it reveals your statements are due to your incomprehension, and to be contrary to reason. It's not because we may disagree, but because it reduces confidence in your veracity and reliability.

I follow you for a reason, and that is because I consider you a reliable source. You have demonstrable integrity, and even if we disagree I have a high level of confidence you are saying only what you believe is true. I don't expect flawless grasp of complex issues from anyone (least of all me), but there is a limit to the utility of integrity, and that limit is closely linked to reason. If you are aware you don't understand something, the only reasonable comment is to acknowledge that lack of understanding, or point to those whose understanding you resonate with.

Some of your statements in this post are very misleading. Science cannot address God, for example. Scientists have personal opinions, but conflating those opinions with science is extremely prejudicial, and grossly wrong. Science is only a method for proving something cannot be true. Accordingly, there being no means of empirically testing God to ascertain whether God exists or not, much less whether any particular dogma or faith based belief regarding God is true or not, ascribing to science itself any support for atheism is just plain false.

Science is inherently agnostic, not just regarding religion, but all questions. Science can never prove anything at all. In fact, science can never actually disprove anything either, but merely provide consistent and convincing evidence that something is not the case. Our physical universe demonstrates consistent features, and experiment has revealed that many theories about the universe cannot be true (all such claims are necessarily moderated natively by the caveat that more information, and better understanding of that information, can change that), and leaves only those theories that MIGHT be true left standing.

Accordingly, despite misconstruing the Big Bang theory as proven in our public school indoctrinations here in the US, the propagandists have not proved anything. There may be many good reasons to believe the Big Bang theory is true, but there are also good reasons to suspect it is not, and I'm speaking scientifically, not from dogma or a religious faith perspective. In the opinion of some scientists (bad scientists IMHO) the Big Bang theory is a fact. They cannot prove that to be so. Honest scientists will correctly state that the best evidence indicates the Big Bang is the best theory (except for those who accord other evidence and theories primacy), and few will state it is disproven. There's a great deal we presently cannot know about the origin of the universe, and claims any particular theory is proven are hostile assaults on truth.

Indeed, this is the primary proof that climate alarmism is nothing more than propaganda. It is the very claims that it is proven, that 'the science is settled' that completely disprove it has any scientific validity whatsoever. I believe you understand and have commented on exactly that principle before on that topic.

Also, the origin and evolution of SpaceX is public information. If you don't know it, that's on you. Not knowing it, and claiming SpaceX sprang up out of nowhere is disingenuous, and making such statements colors all your other statements with the doubt definite falsehoods must - just as do the USG's claims about the Moon landing.

Don't do that my friend. Calling something 'anti-bible' because it is pro-truth and religious faith is not something science can confirm or deny is logically false. There are real statements that are anti-bible, anti-koran, and anti-good altogether, and conflating mere science with any of them casts you in a bad, and insuperable, light. I think you are actually pro-science. Where your personal faith depends on statements of positive fact, knowing that science is nothing but theories experiment indicates are more or less likely makes denying science unnecessary - and counterproductive.

It is better to be forthright and point out that one does not know a thing, than to deny something because one does not know. Science does not know anything, and although many people, including many scientists themselves, misunderstand what science is and can do, and make irrational statements as a result, that true fact means you do not ever have to feel that where some scientific theory conflicts with your faith you must deny the validity of scientific inquiry.

That is a basic tenet of Islam. It is that tenet that has destroyed the scientific community of Muslim culture, from it's position of being on the cutting edge in Arabia to being practically non-existent today. The difference between Islam and your faith only became relevant after the Inquisition ended, because that denial of facts, or even inquiry into facts, prevents new knowledge from being understood and learned. Islam, and the Church of the Inquisition, maintain that all knowledge permissible is contained in religion.

Don't fall for that lie. I know you are more honest and intelligent than that.

Sort:  

This article is titled as speculation, and is clearly present in that vein, V-C. There is nothing much at all about Elon Musk and his ventures, IMO, that is not murky and getting murkier all the time. In fact, the explosion onto the scene of this character is equally as suspicious as is that of the founders of Facebook, Google, et al.

My views on cosmology are mine and no one else's (necessarily) and I do not present them as fact.

Anything that I state in my blog posts is my opinion, or when I do make factual assertions it is either because I have researched it well, or thought it through carefully as anyone might ( and I usually take care to present them either with documentation, or with reasons why I believe them to be factual.) Whether or not in means anything to you, I also bathe all of my writing in prayer and I employ my Creator to not let me ever be willfully or accidentally deceptive.

I am not asking you to accept that He has fully granted that request, or that I have never been in error, just letting you know that I do take the ATTEMPT at being truthful seriously.

It is clear we are not going to agree on much, cosmologically speaking, and that's OK too. My views on scientism, orogeny, modern psychiatry, and a host of other fields might strike you wrong as well...

Peace and Cheers, my friend...

I appreciate your measured and substantive response to my comment, which I note bears an insufferable tone I did not intend. Scientism we are likely to be quite agreed on, amongst many other things, in particular psychiatry. I also am confident that if you were willing to consider it, Einsteinian relativity is not only reasonable, but I do not see any reason a Bible believer couldn't be comfortable with it - but that's my own opinion, and of no consequence.

I agree that Musk's origins are shrouded in potential complicity with nefarious actors, being formerly partnered with Peter Thiel is a good example, but his creation of Paypal and subsequent businesses since aren't particularly cryptic. Zuckerberg and Schmidt of Google aren't cryptic either, just associated with bad company IMHO.

I value your personal views, and my intention was to seek to enable you to not present them as factual when they were possibly more merely unconvinced of the factual. What is clear to me upon rereading my comment is that my advice in that regard would best be taken by me, for I failed utterly to express that sentiment, and instead sound to me like I am sure of my own subjective grasp. This is not only a great personal lapse, but insulting to you, and I apologize.

I wasn't insulted, and no need to apologize, bro. We're all good.

If everyone had to agree with me on everything to be my friend, I wouldn't have many friends...in fact, probably NONE...lol...

It's all good...

"As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another." Proverbs 27:17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44