You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Short Musing on Law: Is America a Voluntaryist Country?

Thanks for your feedback @empress-eremmy. Yeah, I was just in recent days learning the difference between things that can technically be considered voluntaryism vs. the spirit of voluntaryism. Unfortunatly, with contracts, where the devil is in the details, both people and or corporations can be particularly evil if they wanted to.

Sort:  

One is not subject to the consequences of a contract agreed to under threat of violence.

In theory that is correct, unfortunately, the laws in the U.S. have become so convoluted and unnatural that when government puts it's PERSONS in a state of duress they normally get away with it. I don't know if you've noticed this but cops use verbal contracts all the time in order to subjugate people. They will say, "do you understand what I'm saying." Their not asking if you comprehend what they're saying, they're throwing that question out there so that you say yes and agree to their verbal contract. That way they can justifiably make an arrest with your consent.

And none of this changes that a voluntaryist is not bound to these contracts by natural law/ISO. That’s why we’re voluntaryists. You’ve conflated two entirely separate legal systems here, one just—natural law—and the other religious/fraudulent/illegitimate/unjust—the state’s legal “system.”

Natural law always exists in the background, I'd even go further and say that the law of the jungle exists in the background. Murder is illegal and people get murdered in this country everyday. It's proof that the law of the jungle exists, even in civilization.

That said, when a voluntaryist consents to a contract by signing and agreeing to the terms. If he wanted he could go the way of natural law and violate the contract, he has every natural right to. The problem with violating contracts is when doing so you solicit the force of the state.

This is why it's mostly irrelevant to contemplate ones ability to violate contracts, most people don't or would not. This, so that they avoid the potentially negative consequences.

I think it's important that people should recognize the nature of the contracts they are in, or contracts they might be considering agreeing to. Dude, if you think you have no responsibility to honor your contracts that's got to make doing business with folks who are aware of this really difficult.

I don't think that most voluntaryists think in that way, that's just my opinion. I don't claim to know what all voluntaryists think.

The problem with violating contracts is when doing so you solicit the force of the state.

Even if you attempt to not sign the contract the state will violate you.

You really need to buckle down and study some solid voluntaryist principle/literature.

You don’t get it, in a magnificent way.

Which contract specifically?

Look, It's not like I signed a lease, voluntarily, with a landlord to rent their home. Yes, there will always be contract law, but that's not what we're talking about here if I understand correctly. I'm not a consenting party. In other words, I didn't sign shit. I am having a "contract" forced upon me. If I don't comply, men with guns come. If I resist them, they will kill me (after I kill as many of them as possible).

Well, sometimes things can seem like black and white. Where one can either do A. or B. Yet, many times there are peaceful remedies to situations. Who knows maybe there are many peaceful ways to prevent just such a scenario. I'm not entirely sure what you are speaking to, but I would highly encourage trying to find a peaceful path even if it doesn't seem like there is one.

"The greatest victory is that which requires no battle." – Sun Tzu, The Art of War

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50