40 Days Of Civil Disobedience.

in #informationwar6 years ago

fbf5f5f2-3485-45f0-a05e-d55ae70cd3fc.jpeg


This woman sat with her eyes closed at the library in Corvallis Oregon, she knew it was against the rules. Security asked her to leave, the librarian also asked her to leave. The cops arrested her for not leaving, because she sat with her eyes closed. Sitting with your eyes closed is not a bad thing to do.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

wow, that's what I call a true Police State

She was just sitting there, not sleeping or breaking any rules. It was sickening to see her punished for sitting with her eyes closed. It was also sickening how quickly they called the cops on a woman for sitting.

That is very strange, no sleep rule?

Yeah. She wasn't sleeping though. She came in and sat wuth her eyes closed. She refused to leave when asked. Then the cops came. It was heavy.

Protecting the peace from people being peaceful. Worlds getting stranger everyday

Wait, seriously? Sitting with eyes closed in a library is forbidden?

What if you are reading to the point that your eyes are really sore?

Maybe I do not read your news much but this seems preposterous for arresting her. I am now wondering was she actually refusing to leave after operational hours? There has to be more reason to it than just arrested for closing the eyes in the library .

And she just sat there, and not even snoring....

I hope some clarification is done and she is released.

upvoted

Not leaving after being asked. She was asked because she sat with her eyes closed.

I was sitting working on a Steemit post when she came in and sat down. The library was open and mostly empty. Because she sat with her eyes closed security came and told her that behavior was not allowed. She chose to engage in civil disobedience, she could have obeyed the security guard, but decided to make a principled stand. She chose to stay after being told to leave. She was held over night and released.

I wrote a blog about it with more depth, you can read it here

So she deliberately sat there with her eyes closed just to proof civil disobedience? With no reason why she was doing that?

I mean I would just probably asked her is she all right, before even asking the security to come and shoo her away just because she sat there with her eyes closed.

That is one screwed up place from the sounds of it, it's not like she is staring at people and undressing them with her eyes, but I guess that would be okay, since her eyes would be open.

I'm not trying to defend this at all. It's appalling. But was part of the problem that she was sitting on the floor -- and possibly therefore a hazard or obstruction to others? Would she have been arrested if she'd been sitting in a chair at a table, etc? Does this woman have a history of causing problems? Was she even, possibly, trying to be arrested?

If I were to sit down in the middle of a grocery store aisle or on the floor of a hotel lobby with my legs straight out so people would have to step over me (or possibly trip and fall) that could legitimately be considered disruptive. (Yes, I know. Hotels and grocery stores are private property and a library is a public building ... but still.) And, if she'd been sitting with her eyes open, would that have made a difference? Or working a crossword puzzle? Or playing solitaire? What exactly was their complaint about what she was doing? (Or not doing ... as the case may be.)

Having said all this, I was once asked to leave a bookstore because I was writing a list of titles from books on the shelves that I wanted to order at the library. I was one of three customers browsing in the bookstore at the time. I was the only one in the aisle where I was writing. I wasn't sitting on the floor. I was writing on a clipboard.

The store manager somehow decided I was ripping off their inventory in women's studies so I could open my own bookstore. Since we had not exchanged one word before he asked me to leave, I have no idea how he came to that conclusion. (I was killing some time while I waited for my husband to arrive at the mall so we could go to dinner. I had told him where he could find me.)

I pointed out that I was quietly minding my own business, that I wasn't bothering anyone. He said, "I'm asking you very nicely to leave." I answered, "And I'm telling you very nicely I don't intend to."

He didn't call the cops although I half expected he might. I've wondered several times since how that would have played out if he hadn't let it go. Maybe in the police state we have today, I'd find out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50