The easiest way to do a wikileaks deepdive, leaving zero tracks behind- security special.

in #informationwar6 years ago

background-1900329__340.jpg


Linux makes life very easy!


As Linux does not require any antivirus software, it is almost impossible to receive malware, forget that for a moment though and lets concentrate on single use Linux and Wikileaks.

For this you will need the following.

  • A USB pen drive 8gb or larger. (This is what I tested this with.)

  • Or a CD/DVD burner. (all laptops have one.)

  • Download of your desired Linux, I used and use Ubuntu.

You can download Ubuntu here. https://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop

Once you have downloaded Ubuntu, choose your preferred device and burn it onto it in ISO format, so it can boot and be operable from said device.

Once you have the ISO on either CD or USB you need to reboot your PC and enter the BIOS. My HP for instance uses the f10 to enter the BIOS, you can use duckduckgo or your preferred search engine to check which button opens your bios on boot up.

Once in the bios select as pictured below, the boot options.


DSC_0031.JPG


Choose your selected media either USB or CD as below.


DSC_0032.JPG


Save and exit bios with the USB plugged in or the CD inserted.


Upon boot if you have done this correctly so far, you will be presented with the below screen, where you can choose to use Ubuntu without any need to install it. You can now go to Wikileaks and surf until your heart is content, safe in the knowledge that nothing can be transmitted to your PC, as you are if you like using a virtual terminal, and not your HDD. This also gives you a chance to try any Linux system before taking the plunge and installing it.


DSC_0033.JPG


I hope this encourages you to join in with complete safety in mind!


This also serves as a way - (if you are fed up with the constant Windows updates), of getting away from windows once and for all, with a try before you install free guide. I have moved to Linux and my laptop works twice to 3x as fast as it would with Windows, as I no longer have antivirus, windows defender and all the other useless garbage running in the background. I have also noted my fan for the CPU is flat-lined and never gets stressed like it did with Windows 10.

What have you got to lose other than around 15 minutes from start to finish to try this? you never know, you may become a Linux geek like me, and enjoy the endless "free" software for ever more!


judge-2831353__340.png

Verdict = Go on give it a go.


I have put the @deepdives tag in second place, so if it is inappropriate let me know, and I can edit it out.


Image courtesy of pixabay.

Sort:  

Thanks for that mate the last time i tried a linux system was about 15 years ago and it was rather confusing to me. This is sounding much better now. If i get my laptop back out i may just have to give linux another try.

It was a bit confusing years ago, it is though very simple now, with a ton of free softaware that is only a click away without having to know code bro.

Great they made it much better to use :) Cheers bro.

Awesome man, thanks! I've been waiting to take the plunge for Linux for a while. Perhaps I will take one of my old laptops and reformat it, remove the junk Windows 7 or 8 on it and install Linux.
I download Ubuntu and install it via USB or CD drive? I've reformatted before but never changed from one OS to another.

Follow the above steps, and instead of try, simply install and select the partition, if windows is in that partition it will write over it, that is what I did when I bought my new laptop, as I was sick and tired of windows updates.

Awesome, thanks! I'll give it a whirl and let you know how it goes when I finally do it. Hoping I can do it in a week or two.

Sure thing, and any problems give me a shout out, and I will try my best to help.

Thanks for the informative Linux recommendations and easy to follow steps.

No problems bro, hope you take the chance to set yourself free from the "Microsoft mob".......................

I should have a look at Ubuntu Studio again. :-)

This method also works with other Distro's that have a 'live CD' environment
That's most of all the other Ubuntu flavors Ubuntu, Lubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, MATE, and many more.
They all have their own little quirks, and if one flavor doesn't really do the trick then don't be shy to try any of the others.

And true this does not leave any trace on your computer, yet it still has some privacy issues to consider.

TOR could also be a tool to add to the list. There are more options available. But TOR is the one that is most user friendly. Making things user friendly is one of the biggest flaws in all the available privacy tools out there.

I just did a Assange article and covered TOR in that also, as TOR is not what it once was re privacy.

Ubuntu studio does have some bugs, but hey it is freeeeee. :-)

true... but it's at least another layer.
What else can we use?
Ubuntu Studio is more cutting edge then the other buntu's MATE is far more reliable (at least on my hardware) And Lubuntu is also a good choice.

What else can we use?

A good VPN.

I am sticking with Ubuntu studio for now, as I find it easy to get around and use, and the bugs in the code are insignificant, also the ones I found I reported so they should be dealt with soon.

Nice to know you are a fellow Linux user bro.

What if a VPN is a financial obstacle?

And a (centralised) VPN is never going to be able to guarantee privacy as you need to trust a party that can never promise privacy. As a government takes down the VPN then your payment details and IP details will be exposed.

At this point TOR still wins

Still there are other options, but less user friendly. But at least they don't require payments or create new risks like the ones that come with VPN.

If a real and independent VPN, like TOR, would be available at no cost then a VPN could be OK, but there is no single VPN that I dare to trust. As any VPN is being hosted by a centralized organization.

So from that perspective TOR still wins. And VPN will never be a real solution.

A VPN is like a man in the middle attack on my wallet. :-)

So for these two reasons a VPN will never be an option for me.

And because not enough people support and improve TOR and other options steer away FROM tor there will be a void for many years to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65