Freedom is Messy

in #informationwar6 years ago

But is sure beats the alternatives


Source


In current news, Roseanne has been canceled after a tweet by Roseanne Barr sparked mass backlash. I just wanted to give my take on the situation.

She is free to say what she wants, and ABC is also free to fire her for saying whatever she wants.

See how my feelings aren't involved? I don't particularly care what she said, and whether it was racist or not doesn't really matter since it's just words, and it is hard to tell intent from speech alone. Regardless of intention she has the right to say it. Would I like someone silencing me because they dislike what I said? No! So why would it be ok for me to do it to another person.

ABC is perfectly capable of terminating their free association with her, so that is fine. I think this will probably result in the loss of money for them, but hey it's their business so who am I to tell them how to run it? It isn't my right to know or tell them how to act. I am not their parent.

Freedom includes people's right to be free in doing things you don't like, and that is ok since you probably do things they hate as well and they have no right to stop you.

bottom.png
-@roofcore

Sort:  

There is too much freedom in this post!
Nobody should be allowed to use freedom so many times.
If a statist read this post, they would probably have gone straight passed being triggered and gone into epileptic seizures!
Which would be glorious. I hope the upload it to ThemTube.

^_^

if only man

yes I feel very similar.
I wish society was at a point where instead of punishing someone by putting them and the entire crew out of work we could just fine her and move on....people commit actual crimes and don't lose their job sometimes so this is frustrating but at the same time I don't feel anyone's rights have been violated.

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)
Relevance: Countering the MSM.

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,000 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 150+ fellow Informationwar Activists.


Ways you can help the @informationwar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56