The Real Facts About The War In Vietnam

in #informationwar7 years ago

V V.jpg

I came across this a day or so ago and hed never looked at the war from this perspective... It looks at it from the overall effect on Communism. For all intents and purposes, Communism was dead (except among the culturally/intellectually challenged in the United States. But as a form of governing, China has adopted a State run market system where competition is allowed, Russia has given it the boot (they learned it doesn't work the hard way). The march toward global Communism was halted due to the US involvement in SE Asia. Here are the facts- just the facts Ma'am!

f38fca1d393b6624a02654fa68a2a79d.jpg

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

That's true.
I was there.
I blame the Dhmikrats

Yup... When the North signed the Paris Accords- the war was won... So the American Communist Party (Dhmikrats) and their allies in the media had no choice but take Nixon down!

20,000 Canadians enlisted; at least 134 killed.
Its crazy how so much of the Vietnam Narrative I was shown growing up was a lie. Escaping Saigon last minute in a helicopter was such a meme.

There were soldiers from all over. Australia, NZ, sent a lot. There was a detachment of ROK's at Pleiku (South Korean marines) Those were some bad dudes!!! We'd go to sleep and when we woke up there would be 20-30 heads on stakes outside the wire. On their days off, one would jump on his buddy's back and he would run about 10-15 clicks, then they would switch off and run back!

By the way, are you Vietnamese?

My scot-ish grandma introduced me to vietnamese food, Deep-fried bananas and ice-cream is still my favourite.

Deep fried ice cream is one thing I loved! (33 Beer not so much- it's tasted like water buffalo piss)

Did you eat pho?

Beef pho... Now you're talking (but I suspect it was probably water buffalo) It's delicious. The Japanese make a similar soup with pork... Not sure what it's called but it's delicious as well!

Ramen!
I like pho with the tendon and tripe and I tricked my children into liking them by telling them it was meat gum.

No but I can squat on my haunches like one, I'm a Scotch-Jew Canadian.

Lots of viet friends and I've got my favourite pho resaurants

The viet war made a lasting psychological trauma not only on US soldiers but to the innocent civilians as well.
The media also didn't help on eradicating communism in vietnam.

Hmmn, how old are you when you volunteered or drafted?

I enlisted on my 17th birthday... (I was an orphan so a local gangster's wife forged my mom's signature)

I was still watching cartoons when I was 17. (I'm a late bloomer you know)
I am sorry that you are an orphan tho.
Wondering why an unrelated woman wants to dispatch you off to vietnam.

Great post with a lot of interesting facts, that I did not know yet! Resteeming this!

I knew that the North signed the Paris Peace Accords, in effect surrendering. That's why the media and the Dems went so hard after Nixon. A lot of the rest, I didn't know- and I was there!

Guess most of the guys who were there did not know the political machinations behind the scene.

Not until much much later!

Your post is very effective and powerful, Thanks for sharing

Upvoted !

By the way ,I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
please visit my blog and Upvote me too.

Congratulations @richq11! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

True post sir..

Thnx ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82