You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canada Bars Venezuelan Voters

Thank you, now you're giving me something. Help me some more to lessen my ignorance, there are many things I don't understand.

You said "they must be judged and processed as criminals", what specific crimes? What would you charge Maduro with, or any others?

Also, what influence does Cuba have in Venezuela?

Lastly, I don't understand your statement about the expats. Canada is stridently anti Maduro, so if the great majority of the expats would vote against him, I don't see why Canada would block their vote.

My being influenced in this context is caused less by what I think I know about Venezuela than it is by Canadian foreign policy. My country has, and is, taking the wrong side in situations all over the world including Africa, the Mid East, the Balkans, Iraq, Afghanistan and elsewhere, they even support the White Helmets. This doesn't even mention the treatment of our Aboriginal people. Many of these interventions probably constitute crimes against humanity and war crimes. So when Foreign Affairs vilifies someone (like Maduro) the natural reaction is sympathy for their target.

I really hope you can persuade me because it would be great to think that for once Canada did something right. I love my country, but bandits are in control.

Lastly, I take your point about the military.
At the same time, don't be in a hurry to underestimate their chances. The US got their ass kicked in Vietnam, Somalia, the Bay of Pigs and a number of other wars. We even burned their White House when they tried to take some Canadian territory by force in 1812. About their only clear victory that I can think of was in Grenada, a non-military country of only thousands of people. Even Japan, which they nuked, didn't, contrary to popular belief, surrender until Russia entered the war.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53