You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Last Straw

in #informationwar6 years ago

also this- I know what you're saying and I agree that we need to do a whole lot more.
I have a personal view of the straw debate because I have young children and they have started refusing straws. Now it's a small act but one that they can relate to and small steps when they are children will hopefully lead to bigger and more meaningful steps in the future as they grow older and can assert more influence. My eldest has already expressed an interest in entering the world of politics to try and make the world a better place, now i'm not going to crush their dreams and give some cynical responses like "no point it's all corrupt" etc because I want them to keep dreaming of a better world. Who knows, maybe there are millions of kids out there refusing straws at restaurants who collectively will make the world a better place, I know it sounds naive but let's stay positive and look at the bright side.
I have copied and pasted this answer from an answer I gave on another post but I think it has relevance here.

Sort:  

I love your response @p-props, thanks for that! :-)

And you do right, I think, to keep your kids positively interested in these matters. But I also think this: what's wrong with simply telling them the truth? That it's great to care about the straws and that it will have some effect if they refuse them, but tell them the rest of the story to. That's not cynical, at least I don't think so. Don't confuse them by starting too soon with this of course, but there comes that day when you explain to them that Santa Clauthe norms isn't real.

Again, I don't presume to know what's best to do; raising kids is the everlasting human experiment with no end ;-) But I strongly believe we should at least try to speak as much truth as possible, especially to the children. Having said that, I truly admire your heart and intent toward your kids!! I believe they're lucky to have a father that wants the best for them; don't ever change that please :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55