You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: American Legislative Exchange Council. A perfect marriage of corporation and state.

in #informationwar6 years ago

I think governments in most countries operate at the behest of big business and corporate interests. I like your tag "kleptocracy" because that's exactly what it is.
I am also deeply concerned about private prisons, which are also operating in the UK. It's a racket where prisoners provide cheap labour for big business. And unless things change, I think an increasing number of those prisoners will be peaceful political activists.

Sort:  

The for profit prison industry is behind the migrant crackdown we see here in the usa. Their finger prints are directly on the legislation which criminalized undocumented immigration.

The people who use nonprofit status to create political change are violating the law and some have even had lawsuits filed against them for their political bias. Our kelptocracy has been built into the fabric of the legal landscape. It is going to be difficult to affect change here. But we will continue to stand up.

Totally agree with you about the criminalisation of migrants - that definitely happens in the UK too, and I believe it allows migrants to be exploited. As for nonprofit status, we don't have that exact classification in the UK, but I looked into it a while ago, as I was curious about how some "charitable foundations" operated regarding taxation. It certainly is a murky area.

I wish i new more about these issue really regarding taxing and “non profit” and other organizations...and the bottom line is that since I don’t know it is likely the average person doesn’t know which in turn shows there are way too many loopholes and issues in this complicated system.

The press is meant to investigate these issues and report on them for people who are not expert in these matters and who don't have time to look into them. But these days the mainstream media is the mouthpiece of big business, so it's left to the independents to look into these things.
When I was a child growing up in the UK, the news was about things like the Poulson bribery scandal, the Jeremy Thorpe case etc - the mainstream media was far from perfect then, but they were actually doing some important investigative work. Now it's just full of propaganda nonsense with massive corruption going unnoticed or occasionally mentioned in local newspapers.

The media pushes their own agenda instead of investigative journalism. I completely agree. It’s irritating and one of the reason we cut the cord and don’t watch tv anymore is because i get more news from twitter and steem than i do from media stations.

Me too - I stopped watching TV in 2012, and I've never missed it. Occasionally I take a look at BBC Online. It's funny - when I wrote that reply, I'd just had a quick look at BBC Online and there was a story about a murdered Russian dissident journalist. I thought "Here we go - more anti-Putin propaganda".
I had another look at BBC Online this evening, and the latest headline is that the "murdered journalist" walked into a press conference, and Ukraine admitted that they had staged the "murder"! The mainstream news is becoming increasingly bizarre. It's almost like a Monty Python comedy.

HAHAHA I read that storyline as well. Kinda freaky! I "read" they didn't even tell his wife which is brutal! I am going to start looking at BBC online then...if you gav eup the cord 4 years before me it must still be "alright" hehe

Yes it's a mad old world! I'm not recommending BBC Online - I sometimes listen to BBC music stations (I always turn off the news when it comes on), and if there's some music played that I want to identify, I go to BBC Online to check their listings. I can't avoid looking at the "news" on the front page! That's my excuse for looking at it!

@natubat, What tv news channel can you recommend me to watch that you think is reliable and no bias at all? Or, are all media the same?

I stopped watching TV six years ago, so I can't recommend any TV news channels. Most mainstream news channels get their info from news agencies like the Press Association and Reuters. I think they are all much the same. Sometimes I have a quick look at what the BBC news is covering, but if I'm interested in a story I do a bit of online research. I never take it at face value. I pay much more attention to reliable independent sources like the Corbett Report. Even so, I don't go along 100 percent with everything James Corbett says - I always try to have an open mind.

At the top of that food chain are the 5 or 6 family dynasties that own nearly every single Central Bank in the entire world. They have convinced the world that debt is money and have successfully acquired more power and wealth than the other 99.99999% of the population.

Precisely!

The same 6 corporations that edited the bible some 1000+ years ago.

The 1% controlling 99% of the world's wealth, Skull and Bones. Now Trump is proposing that all currencies should be formed into one world currency, and hold equal value, but of course will not give an equal amount of them to everyone. More of the same if they push that through, I hope to God they do not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67211.91
ETH 2613.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68