Sort:  

Instead of debating the subject you attack the author.
Ad hominem doesn't promote understanding of the subject. Political reality is complicated, especially in the case of internal oppression and external aggression, such as Venezuela, our case in point.

Something you might consider before calling someone a troll is have a look at that writer; see what else they are writing. And first, make sure you have carefully read what's been written here, both for and against the diametrics.

Slander is a weapon, not a tool to advance discussion and learning. Are you aware of the gravity of your hit-and-run? Calling someone a Troll is a serious allegation and can have pernicious ramifications.

I'm going to share a story with you. When I was involved with a group supporting on-the-ground activists in the Montreal WTO I discovered that one of our members, the treasurer in a related fundraiser, was diverting funds to benefit himself (his name is Doug Meggison, a union organizer and a member of the local Communist organization, or at least he was at the time). I called him on it face to face, and when he would not desist I made it public. Shortly thereafter I was assaulted by a gang of his union members, and a rumor surfaced that I was an undercover agent for the local intelligence police. Because of Meggison's wide connections the rumor spread widely. Have you ever tried to do guerilla reporting when your prospective interviewee thinks you're a spy? The diatribe even resulted in close friends distancing themselves from me.

Who was it that said
"The far left has a tendency to turn on its own, and the moderate left does not engage for fear of being ostracized",

and
"As a researcher, I constantly strive to fact check the ideas I put out there and locate and untangle my own biases and assumptions"?

Nowhere in here did I call anyone a troll, and you are taking what I wrote and applying it to another context where it is not relevant to serve your own beliefs. Regardless, you make a good point that making assumptions about someone's motivations and starting rumors in a time of political strife based on speculation can be dangerous for the person speaking out, and for that reason I will respectfully delete my comment for the safety of the author. If you would like to delete your comment as well, drop me a line to let me know and I will delete this one so the thread is gone.

A Plant isn't a Troll?
Please don't delete your comments, I believe this is important; the end result can be constructive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44