Losing Control of Your KidssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

Is 14 The New Adult?

I recieved the following notification and thought it was an interesting change. Apparently the Australian government does not trust you to raise your own kids. I am sure they have made these changes only in the best interest of kids who suffer from bad parenting, violence and the like.

However, after 14 a parent has no way of knowing what medical services are being accessed by "their" child, or previous child. 14 is now the new adult.

This effectively eliminates parents from any decisions for the child, such as having an abortion or taking hormone replacement drugs. In a society where one looks to peers for guidance in lieu guidance from elders, one might expect an increase in issues associated with, people making early decisions based on what is popular as opposed to what is best for the future.

...But who really cares anyway because...

LB

Sort:  

Okaaay...Yet as a parent I opted my daughters out because they were under the age of 18. Both are over 14, however. They're not even supposed to be able to get anything done by a healthcare professional without parental consent until they're 18 either. So that makes no sense.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, that's what I thought, makes no sense. Family and I have all opted out. Actually I was automatically opted in without my knowledge during the testing period. Therefore I had to delete my existing account.

That's sad. It's as though the government thinks they have the best interests of our kids in mind and not the parents. When I was 14, I certainly made a lot of wrong choices, I didn't know any better. But I'm certainly thankful to have parents watching over me back then.

I'm sure they did it with the best intentions << sarcasm. Kids are left with the ultimate choice, or perhaps a so called "professional" will have the last persuasive say with a child.

Could be a big money spinner for the right type of doctor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97