Right To Be Wrong

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)

political-opinion-south-park-funny-meme.jpg

Takes courage to admit it.

Image Source: funnypoliticalpictures

I have my own opinion on the matter as it is more than necessary in order to express myself; I perceive this as an obligation towards myself. Maybe that's because it pleases my ego, or maybe it is just another way to feel okay with the way I understand the rationality of my beliefs. If there's any at all. Kidding, though I'm actually not. I am never totally sure that I'm right; I have evolved and learned so much, experienced things that have shaped my personality and the way I think. What used to be right for me now is wrong.

Who is to say I'm right this time? Definitely not me. I have always wondered whether I would ever be able to spot this thin line between the truth and my own version of it. My opinion sounds right to me and that is the primary reason why I stand by it, however I'm just another spec on the Earth's surface. Just another passenger in this train of life traveling through time. Just another being trying to figure out life. If I pick two different versions of myself from two different points in time then it will be hard to decide which of those two guys is the real me; maybe none of them.

Maybe those guys do not exist anymore. Just like their beliefs, opinions and ideas have probably been replaced by new, alternative, more convincing ones. Maybe there is another me every day I wake up, like dying and coming back again, almost the same person but slightly different every time. Who is right and who is wrong, the person who died last night or the one who just woke up today and decided to start typing these words? And what about those two different guys' views? How could anyone of the two of them realize they are wrong at any given point in time?

I cannot answer those questions mentioned above. Even if I did come up with answers that could satisfy my ego, I still wouldn't be able to prove to myself that I'm not delusional in the first place. Stuff like that is like dark matter for the individual; you just can't see it. You can only see one side of the coin. My opinion might be based on the other side though and that's the reason why I think it's healthy to disagree. That's why I respect yours in the first place.

See you around

@lordneroo

Sort:  

It is very important to have your own opinion in this world ruled by few. Not having a personal opinion is almost degrading and in some way is like giving up.
Even in fields of exact sciences it is encouraged to have your own opinions and views. Accepting the facts is one way of "learning" but not the best one. Learning through shaping your own views of nature and coming to conclusions already discovered by science is a much needed process of learning.
Being wrong is just fine if you are ready to change and develop and most importantly learn through your mistakes.

Great post as always!

Not having a personal opinion is almost degrading and in some way is like giving up.

I just couldn't agree more.

Even in fields of exact sciences it is encouraged to have your own opinions and views. Accepting the facts is one way of "learning" but not the best one. Learning through shaping your own views of nature and coming to conclusions already discovered by science is a much needed process of learning.

That's true, even in science there's a lot that needs to be fixed, many misconceptions regarding the true nature of our Universe. There is a lot more to learn as a species.

Thanks for coming by and leaving a thougtful response!

Thanks for taking the time to read man!
Oh and thanks for dropping this link here, never knew about fallibilism!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordneroo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99