You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Short Musing on Law: Is America a Voluntaryist Country?

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)

The problem with violating contracts is when doing so you solicit the force of the state.

Even if you attempt to not sign the contract the state will violate you.

You really need to buckle down and study some solid voluntaryist principle/literature.

You don’t get it, in a magnificent way.

Sort:  

Which contract specifically?

Look, It's not like I signed a lease, voluntarily, with a landlord to rent their home. Yes, there will always be contract law, but that's not what we're talking about here if I understand correctly. I'm not a consenting party. In other words, I didn't sign shit. I am having a "contract" forced upon me. If I don't comply, men with guns come. If I resist them, they will kill me (after I kill as many of them as possible).

Well, sometimes things can seem like black and white. Where one can either do A. or B. Yet, many times there are peaceful remedies to situations. Who knows maybe there are many peaceful ways to prevent just such a scenario. I'm not entirely sure what you are speaking to, but I would highly encourage trying to find a peaceful path even if it doesn't seem like there is one.

"The greatest victory is that which requires no battle." – Sun Tzu, The Art of War

Sometimes resistance is required. The peaceful path is the path to destruction. Our history as a species proves that as a fact over and over too. Voluntaryism is about consent, not compromise. It is not pacifism either. Sometimes violence, as a last resort, is your only option. I will not be slowly cornered until I have no means to defend myself. Perhaps that is something you're suggesting? Use peace until I have a bullet through my brain?

I subscribe to Malcolm Reynolds theory of self-defense.
That said, the best case scenario is always to live one's life in such a way
where nobody tries to kill you. I think that's what Sun Tzu may have meant.

Sun Tzu... It's funny that you should mention him. He was a military adviser, and his "job" was to make sure his boss always won military operations. He certainly was not promoting to live one's life in such a way where nobody tries to kill you. That's impossible if you are in the fight. No, really. It's impossible. How could I turn a blind eye when an innocent person is being hurt? How could I turn a blind eye when a pedo defender outs themselves and turns out to be a child martial arts instructor? No, I refuse. I'm in the fight, and being in the fight means I have lots of enemies.

I've had lots of enemies for years too. Anyone living their life to make sure nobody tries to kill them is living as a coward and is not a warrior. They are not in the fight, and they are not, in my opinion at least, spending their life as they should. We were meant to be warriors, and bad people win when people don't be warriors. You can't go through life without making enemies. You would not be standing up for anything if that's what was happening. Ideas need to be defended. People and their property need to be defended. One of my favorite quotes is from Sun Tzu:

“Let your plans be dark and impenetrable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt.”

He wasn't talking about using words either. He was talking about using violence to destroy your enemies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54