You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now they're even hacking my account to give upvotes FROM ME to people who support my main DOWNVOTER!!

Passwords Are Locks:

I agree with what you are saying, that it is good to change passwords, to change house locks, but if they break in, they may steal things from you. If they don't like what he is posting, then they may try to go into his account to edit his posts. If it was just about money, they could send his money to their accounts.

Ubuntu

I'm using Ubuntu Mate 16.04 and I agree with you, I prefer Linux related operating systems and have been using Ubuntu since 2007.

Upvote

I just don't understand how or why they would make him upvote them. Well, unless if they were to sign his account up for auto voting. Well, it is possible they got in and got his account to upvote their posts. If that is true, then these criminals are incompetent as thugs as it would be better for them to edit his posts. But I guess it is easier to upvote than it is to edit posts.

Sort:  

I use Ubuntu myself. I started with 6.04, and I am installing 19.04 on a SSD. I will keep my old drive as a data storage unit.

Using the lower authority password will protect the upper level ones too.

These people attack as a political tool, as their first choice.

:)>

I've been using Ubuntu Mate 16.04 because I prefer the classic user interface (UI). I didn't like the Unity UI or GUI which Ubuntu began using since Ubuntu 10.10 which came out in October of 2010 (2010/10 = Ubuntu 10.10). But I may consider trying out Ubuntu 20.04 in April of 2020. I may try out other operating systems as well. But for the last several years, I've focused on Ubuntu Mate. But I try to keep an open mind concerning the different OSes, programs, etc.

Passwords

Depends on which passwords, which keys, were discovered or guessed by the criminals, the hackers, or whoever. I guess it depends on how as well. See, if you change your password, it may not matter too much as that may not necessarily stop them from getting the new password. I guess it depends on the details.

I used windows for work, and I use windows for the engineering software I need, but I Never put those online!

Ubuntu has run my home computers for a long time, and has worked well for me.

The password protection on steemit seems to be minimal, for all their long mixed characters starting points.

I spend more time on weku.io now, they seem to be more like steemit was before all the hardforks software changes, apparently for whales to cash out.

:)>

Wine:

You can run your Windows programs on Ubuntu, etc, via Wine, via emulators, etc. Well, it depends on the program, but long story short, there are things you could try if you wanted to.

Takes Time

I know it can be time consuming to figure out. I'm just saying it might be possible for you to use the software on other operating systems.

Natural Remedies

Now, of course, some people will not tell you that for the same reason doctors may not tell you about natural remedies, alternative medicines, drugs, cures, etc.

Four Options

Here is an article about four different programs that could help you run Windows programs on Ubuntu. They include:

  1. Wine
  2. Winetricks
  3. Play On Linux
  4. Crossover

Wine

I have used these four programs. But I prefer Wine most of the time. There may be other programs and other methods for using .exe files or other kinds of files or programs, etc.

Using Wine

How-to use Wine.
Another article on these things.

I tried wine, but Autocad, and especially my tablet mouse bogs down and just won't run right.

Besides, when I work on that software, I am best without distractions. New designs require concentration.

Thank for the wine links, I will look them over; always good to find new software! One of the others might run my software better....

:)>

How much can you do on a tablet? I would recommend no less than 8 GB of RAM. If the mouse is bogging down, then it is probably indicating a slow computer, tablet, or whatever. I was having problems with Ubuntu and Windows. Many people run into mice problems like that. That is why I use Ubuntu Mate instead of Ubuntu.

Autocad

Here is a thread that talked about Autocad. Somebody mentioned a few alternative programs to Autocad for Ubuntu.

AutoCAD on Linux

This other article talked about using a virtual box in order to run AutoCAD.

Windows

I don't mind using Windows sometimes. And, of course, you can continue using Windows when you need to or whenever you want to. On top of that, like I said before, some programs either might not run on Ubuntu or it might very tricky to get it to work. I was just trying to say that it might be possible. I have not run a virtual box. I have done some dual booting. I almost got a virtual box working a few times years ago or something like that. I may give that another try someday. Wine has helped me a few times in the past. But virtual boxes may require like 4 GB of RAM or something that is rather big. So, in other words, you would need a lot of RAM, probably. Maybe not a tablet or a phone.

Using Windows

As long as you are not too dependent on Windows, I think it is fine. If you ever needed to run a Windows program on Ubuntu, it could be good to know how to do that because it is all about having the freedom to choose. Otherwise, you can begin to feel trapped into only using Windows. That's one of the reasons why I'm writing this. Just want to make sure you know that there might be some choices that you can sometimes make if you want.

Sorry I said that badly. I have 1 large physical tablet with forms on it like circles and offsets and lines etc., that I can select and insert by moving a crosshair on the mouse to that specific location on the 18 inch square tablet, and clicking on that specific function. Saves me a lot of keyboard commands, and speeds the drawing.

I don't mind the AutoCAD on windows, but I will try Dragon on wine, that would be nice to have on this machine! Thanks for the links, I will go read and relax!

I bought a CAD software package that was supposed to run on Ubuntu, but after I fought a very unfriendly installation, I found it was not very functional.

Since I must work with Corporate Windows programs; so it is a necessary evil (IMHO) and I will need to keep using it. But the last windows program I was impressed with was windows 3.11!

For one piece of test equipment I support, I still have to use DOS, LOL! There is even one piece that is tube type, still in service. It never gets boring....

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51