You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FCC to shut down sales of popular prepping radio in one month; Here is how to get your before the ban!

in #informationwar5 years ago

It should be. hey I have a rusted out oil pan on our Jeep Compass so I got under there to look at it and it will come off easily enough but one corner has something else attached to it, looks like the starter, at least it has electric wires going to it with the serpentine belt on it's pulley.

Now I don't know how much of a hassle it will be because I have to take that thing off and get it back on right. Any suggestions?

Sort:  

On the serpentine belt, it is likely a AC compressor.

Be sure to get a new oil sump pick up and filter if it has one. Don't leave it open any longer than you need to, have all the parts ready with the gasket pre-attached to the pan with #2 Permatex, but leave the top surface clean. Clean what you can reach with B-12 chemtool.

Check all the parts you can, before you remove the pan. Remove the belt tension for a first step. Take pictures before you start, and do a post on it.

:)>

Yeah I figure I'll have to loosen the belt first. If I can get to the tensioner. Clean what I can reach? After I take the pan off? put Permatex 2 on the new pan and put the gasket on it?

where is the oil sump pick up and filter located, is the oil pan covering that?
Does the new oil pan come with bolts?

Yeah I figure I'll have to loosen the belt first. If I can get to the tensioner.

Take the belt loose, because the tensioner is spring loaded. Take a picture of the routing of the belt first.

Clean what I can reach? After I take the pan off?

Whatever is exposed when the pan comes off.

Put Permatex 2 on the new pan and put the gasket on it?

Yes, clean the gasket surface on the pan, thin layer of Permatex, and use that to hold the gasket into place.

Where is the oil sump pick up and filter located, is the oil pan covering that?

Both are inside, the sump pickup may have the filter inside it.

Does the new oil pan come with bolts?

No, save the old ones, and re-tighten them in a bolt pattern, jumping across the pan. Unless you can feel them well, use a torque wrench, tighten low level, then final torque them.

Be sure to clean the old gasket off, without scraping the face, and use B12, but NO Permatex!

:)>

Did you say to replace the sump pickup or just replace the filter? I should be able to google that to find out if that engine has a sump pickup.

Both, but sometimes the filter is built into the sump, and that would be easier.

I always buy a book on EVERY car I have, but I google it too.

:)>

I'll have to look it up because I don't know what to look for.

Use your model and year and look for transmission fluid change.

:)>

What does the engin oil pan have to do with transmissions? What did you say to clean the gasket area with? B12? Is that a common cleaner? sounds like a vitamin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63557.03
ETH 3400.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44