I'm starting to have Corona-doubt

in #informationwar4 years ago

I'm not trying to push anyone's buttons or get anyone upset. But it is really difficult for me to look at the global pandemic and not believe that it is at least in part, blown out of proportion.

3sa4gw.jpg
source

I have had many discussions with people about this online and I read the various posts that people share on Facebook but the consensus seems to fall along the lines with what I know about those people already.

  • The people who constantly "lecture" others on how to live their lives are doing so with this as well, particularly in relations to self-quarantine situations - and they do so in accusatory way similar to everything they would post about environmentalism or god forbid, anything related to politics
  • The people who are very well off also tend to lecture others about "staying home" because these people are going to be ok financially regardless. Just like celebrities who are in tears at their 10 bedroom mansion in the Hollywood Hills, they have no idea what it is like to live a "normal" life.
  • The people who have some connection to the medical industry are on a constant soap box about how everything everyone else is doing is wrong and we need to listen to them!
  • People who don't trust the media and / or government feel as though there is something sinister going on.

I fall into the last category and it isn't necessarily because I believe there is some sort of global conspiracy to rob the world of its wealth over a virus because I can't really imagine what the end game goal would be there (if you have some idea I'd love to hear about it.) After September 11th, I kind of jumped on the conspiracy theory bandwagon because the increased and ongoing expenditures on never-ending war started to become evident pretty much right away.

161104142724abcnews640x360.jpg
source

The media sensationalizing things is nothing new and I have never really understood their motivation for doing so. It must be working from a financial point of view because even thought they are exposed on a regular basis, it still carries on. I don't think this has magically stopped being the case during COVID-19 reports either.


Someone who I really respect recently sent me an extremely well researched article by Nick Pineault and no, I don't know if that name carries any weight to it but I seriously recommend that you check it out.

Click here to see the article


navigatingcoronapanic.jpg
source

It is entitled "Navigating the "Coronavirus Panic" and while I have read a lot of snippets about this topic, Nick is able to present it in a way that is kind of difficult to argue with. It is almost completely devoid of wording that seems like nutjob conspiracy theory writing, and he references every single claim that he makes in it with quotes and studies done by respected doctors and researchers who actually are involved directly in what is going on right now.

Warning, it is very long but I really feel as though there is a lot of eye-opening information in there.


I live in Vietnam, a country that can not possibly bear the grunt of a long-term quarantine. The general population is simply too poor to not be working and getting an income for a long period of time. Their government also does not have the resources to simply pay people to stay at home. Well, the United States doesn't have it either but they seem to get a pass on spending money they don't have for some reason.

That article by Nick Pineault is likely the most compelling article I have read by anyone in regards to the current state of things on the planet and I challenge anyone to read it and come away from that thinking that he is wrong and / or a conspiracy theory nutter.

I'm not looking for a debate, I just don't believe entirely what we are being shown by the media. Tell me your thoughts and if you have time (I presume you do, since most of us are forced to stay indoors,) at least peruse that article.

Sort:  

I appreciate your creativity, dear @gooddream!
@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

!trdo

Congratulations @amico, you successfuly trended the post shared by @gooddream!
@gooddream will receive 0.29160000 TRDO & @amico will get 0.19440000 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

$trdo

Reading suggested article now.

Congratulations @metzli, you successfuly trended the post shared by @gooddream!
@gooddream will receive 0.12818250 TRDO & @metzli will get 0.08545500 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Great article.

Unfortunately it does not change much here.

The elders in our community are still in danger and even if social distancing is not proven to work, it is not proven that it doesn't.

The average citizen can't fight the lockdown either.

So, aside from staying calm, figuring out how to keep an income coming and NOT spreading fear everywhere - I see no other solution.

good on ya for reading it - it was really long. I wonder about herd immunity though, no one being exposed to it (such as in Vietnam) could have dire consequences later... or maybe enough of the people who show no signs of even having it have already happened. How can we know since the testing seems to be pretty ineffective and/or time-consuming at the moment.

I read his article and don't know what to think anymore. I personally believe it is man made and used to destabilize the world economy. China wanted more of the pie and to get more controlling shares in global companies by crashing the stock exchanges. The poorer countries in Africa will go into more debt and be more reliant on them for loans offering them better deals on raw materials. I am really hoping to get back to work pronto as I need to.

I just saw some posts on Twitter this morning that dealt with nurses who complain about no work at all. It came comments from nurses in the USA, in Ireland, and in Norway, and they said, it is so little work that they can be on-call in their homes.

It for sure is a blown-up story, and since people read about the coronavirus, the media writes about the virus. People are not interesting in reading about car-reviews now, so why write them? It is an ugly spiral, and it forces us all to think about it and write about it all the time.

But, there is some truth to it all as well. I spoke to my wife a few days ago, as we saw someone comparing the death numbers of flu, cancer, and more... and then at the bottom of the list came the coronavirus, with appx. 40,000 deaths. That was 5 days ago. Now the number is 65,000. In other words, it has grown with more than 50% in the last five days. And that is the problem... the number is growing, even though we take measures to stop it.

I am so glad not to be a politician who has to make decisions, because I simply lack the wisdom on how this should be solved. But, I do hope it will come to an end quickly, but honestly, I don't see how...

Great article.
I came to the same conclusions without data. It's my gut feeling; very unscientific, I know. But some common sense six-pack Joe logic worked fine for me in the past. Most of the time.

I know I'm late to the comment party by Steemit standards, but I have to share my thoughts. The world's stock markets were in a bubble. Now that bubble has popped and we have Covid-19 to blame, and not banks, corporations, and governments like in 2008. This economic shutdown is a great way to shift blame for the inevitable.

There are a lot of ways to look at this. I can't get on board the 5G is killing us idea, but i suppose anything is possible.

I do think that science or not, they better come up with a better solution than lockdown and soon... people are not going to tolerate this forever, even if it is for their own good.

The people who are very well off also tend to lecture others about "staying home" because these people are going to be ok financially regardless.

I have to go out there if I don't show up to work people are going to die. Most essential workers in North America are low paid.

Congratulations @gooddream, your post successfully recieved 0.4197825 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.1944 TRDO curation
@metzli earned : 0.085455 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87