Bechdel Test Casualties: Iron Fist and Luke Cage Axed from Netflix!

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)

Iron Fist became unwatchable during season 2 in Episode 5. It was this episode when it became apparent the Bechdel Test was overtly influencing the script. The slow drag of season 2 compared to season 1 had everything to do with the Bechdel Test being applied to every facet of the Marvel Universe. And well, it ruined the pacing and chemistry of Iron Fist.

0001IronFist.jpg

After I fell asleep in the theater during Thor: Ragnarok, I decided I was not going to see another Superhero film. But, having been a student of Chi Gong and Tai Chi since I was 13, I had a strong connection to this character. And well, it seems the writers got squeemish from all the criticism about Danny Rand misappropriating Chinese culture and well....guess what they left out.

0001IronFistLukeCage.jpg

The Bechdel test scenes were so obvious, so distracting, and bogged down the story arc so bad, I had to quit watching. Now that Iron Fist along with Luke Cage was canceled. This vindicates my position!

BTW - the whole misappropriating thing is bogus. Simple argument, "Try going to a food court and NOT expect to see food from other cultures!". Appropriation of cultures is what brings flavor and diversity to the USA! And how boring would a food court be if restaurants bowed down to that bullshit?

0002FoodCourt.jpg

So I skipped Jessica Jones and Luke Cage season 2 despite really enjoying both series' season 1. And, I skipped these for the same reasoning. It is that I got sick of the superhero thing. But also, I have to factor in that I knew the Bechdel Test was guiding Marvel more and more. And I didn't want to ruin my opinion of JJ and LC by watching their 2nd seasons.

0003LukeCage.jpg

I hear Infinity War has cleared the way to make the Marvel Universe even more SJW. Good luck with your sales assholes! Might be a good idea to short Marvel stock. But these are not my reasons for not seeing Infinity War. It is because I hated how the Russo Brothers and Trent Opaloch decided to shake the hell out of the camera while at the same time cranking up the frame rate so high it made the action too choppy to...well...follow and make sense. They ruined Captain America: Civil War imho. And when I asked one of my film school professors about the shake & crank film technique he said, "The filmmakers are trying to confuse the audience.". I said sarcastically, "Oh, yeah sure Hollywood. Here's my money! I want to be confused! God help me if I want to follow an action sequence like in The Spy Who Loved Me shot by Claude Renior!" The class applauded me! And the professor agreed that tight action should be documented. And he too was tired of "shake and crank" camera work.

0001INfinityWar.jpg

And really the shake and crank camera makes all that stunt work and fight choreography pointless! And honestly, I feel shank and crank action sequences is the realm of someone who does not know how to visualize, storyboard, and well, lets face it...has a huge cocaine problem and is surrounded by other coke heads whose answer to every whacked idea is "Fuck yeah man! It'll be killer!".

0002Camera.jpg

So coke it up Marvel! Keep sucking up to the Bechdel Test and one day you will be mentioned in the same sentence as Gold Key comics! What is Gold Key Comics you ask? Exactly!

0000CokeHead.jpg

Oh, and the villain's hair cut and semi-beard in Iron Fist, being almost exactly the same length all the way up the side of his head looked ridiculous! Should have went for the look of the Monk from Diablo 3! That would have been badass.

FakeINterNeTNewsID.png

InformationWar Squadron.png

Sort:  

Hello @fakeinternetnews, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

IMO season 2 of JJ and LC are worth watching.
Cancelling Luke Cage was retarded, too many
companies cancelling good shows. Hulu nixed
The Path, Chance, and Shut Eye. So fuck'em,
I'll cancel them pretty soon for being idiots.

I plan on giving Luke Cage a chance. But, I found SE02 of Iron Fist lagged so bad with all their Bechdel test bullshit, I got sick of it like I said in Episode 5. It was during the scene where the cop woman was trying to talk Iron Fist's GF in to becoming a cop. Had nothing to do with the story. And it was classic Bechdel Test bullshit. Found out what Bechdel Test if you do not know. And tell me if you picked up on this scene as well.

Oh I know, I think the whole concept of Bechdel corrupts the writing process. If it happens naturally then so be it. If it's unnaturally incorporated just to meet the standard it can really corrupt the script. LOL, You'd be really pissed off if you watched that one through to the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63