You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Post-Truth Society

in #informationwar6 years ago

Good stuff, thanks. Have some different thoughts on evolution and climate change. Certainly things evolve but there are different and interesting takes on how, and some things aren't so easily explained by evolution. Valid questions exist, such as the fact that DNA has not changed, not evolved one single bit in 3.5 billion years. F. Crick, discoverer of the double helix, has said that it could not have come about from the soup of life. I, for one, am not willing to close my eyes to possibilities of God or aliens, and firmly believe that western science needs to 'evolve' by allowing for a more spiritual awareness.

As far as the climate change thing goes, I think we need to be careful not to fall into the trap of a debate whose parameters have been defined for us. I think this goes for evolution as well, it's as if the group you belong to defines your stance. To wit, only religious right kooks deny evolution or climate change and all intelligent, rational thinkers believe in them. I believe there to be many serious and qualified scientists who are not so certain as to iatrogenic carbon induced global warming. And there are factors like solar radiation, ozone depletion, chemtrails, and possible climate control efforts by the military that should be considered and studied.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for this well worded response: I'm truly flattered @dashr :-)

I, for one, am not willing to close my eyes to possibilities of God or aliens...

Neither am I. And neither is any true scientist, however loudly they rage against religion and publicly claim to know truths no one can know for sure. All science can say on this subject is that there's no reason to believe in God. God just isn't part of any equation, unless you want to invoke a "God of the gaps"; imagine some all powerful being where knowledge and understanding breaks down. Through the ages we've had ever fewer needs for some God or miracle to explain events. When we couldn't explain how someone got sick, it was God and not the germs. Maybe we're not supposed to know everything, but somehow "I don't know" is an answer most people are uncomfortable with. We fear what we don't know. I therefore see no reason to believe in God, but I don't close my eyes to the possibility that there someday will be a reason to do so.

As far as the climate change thing goes, I think we need to be careful not to fall into the trap of a debate whose parameters have been defined for us.

This one is much simpler in my mind. I don't really care who's right or wrong in this debate. The arguments are false on both sides; as @soundwavesphoton mentioned in his reply, science doesn't have the tools to make a definitive judgement on AGW. And the newspeakly named "climate deniers" are are eager to point out this fact. But... We do live in the sixth mass extinction. Since we started using our brains to adjust the environment to our needs and wants instead of us adjusting to the environment, species of plants, insects and other animals have been dying out at speeds not before seen since the comet that killed the dinosaurs.

And we simply don't need to be as wasteful as we are now. On the contrary: we're technologically perfectly able to show at least some respect for spaceship earth. We don't however, only because we're addicted to an economy that runs on egotistical wastefulness. So even when in doubt, as I am, about the exact causes and ultimate effects of this period of climate change, showing more respect for our home is simply the right, the moral thing to do.

I had to chuckle at the irony in my response to you: I'm so accustomed to facing the polarized view point that I assumed that was were you were coming from. Trapped by the trap I suppose!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48