I stumbled upon the r/racism subreddit, was banned within 10 minutes

So I stumbled upon a new subreddit, r/racism the other day. The very first post I opened was a list someone compiled of what websites they claim promote racism, in hopes to make advertisers aware that their businesses were being promoted on bigoted sites. I had to check it out. I want to be aware of bigotry, and be a voice in opposition to it where it occurs.

I didn’t recognize almost any of the sites, but two of them I am familiar with, I am certain do not promote racism. The first one I saw was the dailywire.com, ya know Ben Shapiro’s site. The Jewish Ben Shapiro that was the number one target of the alt right on Twitter in 2016, and is far from racist. He’s just conservative. I made a comment that simply said _”really? dailywire.com?”

Then I scrolled a little further and noticed beinglibertarian.com which I recognized as Eric July’s site. Being a huge fan of his writing, as well as his dope band Backwordz, I wrote this simple comment in disagreement. I mean, this person doesn’t want to be oppressing minorities by affecting their income stream right? They should be grateful I was pointing out their mistake. But I must have forgotten where I was, and that these people enjoy their life in the echo chamber of social justice, and don’t entertain any opposing thoughts whatsoever.

2746_E7_D7-_AE55-407_A-8201-37_CA5602_BE8_A.jpg

So before I could even participate in this new subreddit I found I was banned, only ten minutes after I first discovered it. Ben Shapiro, and Eric July are still racist. This is the world these people live in. They can’t even consider a person of color disagreeing with them, or thinking for themselves. They definitely don’t want someone with opposing opinions floating around their groups, which will keep them from ever changing the hearts and minds of those individuals. It makes no sense to me. The world makes no sense to me anymore. **Debate, logic, and reasoning are relics of the past, replaced by screaming, and punching Nazi’s. They literally couldn’t tolerate me for ten ducking minutes. **How will this all end? I don’t know, but it scares the hell out of me that so many social, and political influencers can’t even have a discussion anymore. Truth is buried, but I won’t stop digging til I die

4290_FDB6-_E1_B9-42_D2-8617-01_AC4636_F02_E.jpg

1621_AA99-_E602-4222-_B808-302_BCC4109_B4.jpg
-Daniel

Sort:  


Congratulations @dajohns1420!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,500 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 150+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 10

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Congratulations @dajohns1420! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95