You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drawing Up Sides In The Information War: A Generational Perspective

in #informationwar6 years ago

I have less optimism for the Millenials than for Generation Z. The Millienials were still being raised in the transitional era from traditional to digital media and are, in my opinion, still predisposed to believe "authoritative" sources that were originally brick and mortar.

I see more push back against mainstream narratives the younger the students are these days. In recent years it has become clear to me Gen Z watches almost no advertising, they don't watch TV almost at all (going straight for the episodes, which aren't less propagandized really) and they use adblocks religiously.

They create more media than Ms, virtually every student I have right now is actually creating content, and in doing so they compare and contrast input more. Although the educational establishment has completely sabotaged logic and critical thinking, there is still such a thing as common sense and when raised in a miasma of lying media, it develops in spades. As such, MSM almost always loses out in such comparisons.

I have learned to never say "believe me" in class anymore. It just doesn't work. Instead I say, "Don't believe me, look it up for yourself." Much more effective. At times students say, but so-and-so said not to read that/watch that/believe that, to which I have come to respond, "Is obedience to authority equally beneficial to making up your own mind by comparing and contrasting sources?"

Sort:  

Compared to the prior generation M's are more attuned to what's going on... I think that wilt each subsequent gen we will see more and more critical thinkers. I think much is due to homeschooling... overall I'm optimistic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81