You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit A Dragnet?

Its important not to get confused about the benefits of Steemit (and blockchain in general).
Getting paid for your content: YES
Censorship Resistant: YES
Owning your own content: YES
Anonymous: Only partly and certainly not from government.
Private: NO

NOTHING you post online to any app (Facebook, Medium, Reddit etc) is private.
Unless you use strong end-to-end encryption like ProtonMail, not even you emails are private.
However there is a big difference between your private information being monetised to make someone else rich, and it making money for you.

Sort:  

I think what hubby takes issue with the most is that the content I sometimes create could draw too much attention to myself, yet here on Steemit there's a false sense of security when saying what we want, when in reality I'm sure the government has a special eye on us.

Believe me @apshamilton, I'm not leaving anytime soon lol. There are many benefits, and it's still my favorite online place to be. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33