You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 12 entry

Which part of Australia did you grow up in? I am guessing that it is not in the north part of the continent because they never seem to be short of rain. Can't say the same for the interior regions of Australia though. I do remember the time when there were water restrictions in place in many cities, but then the floods came in QLD and that changed things again. Very interesting post showing the contrast that comes from having different perspectives and experiences :)

Sort:  

I'm originally from Perth. So when I was growing up, there was constant water restrictions, there still is as far as I can tell. Just not as often.

The infrastructure wasn't so well developed either, and so there were also many blackouts. It's weird, I don't think I have ever had a black out in my adult life!

Ah, I remember the dry heat of Perth when I visited a few years ago, I also remember all the cargo ships that you can see on the horizon of Cottesloe Beach, and driving through Kings Park. I think with all the money they made from mining there was a bit more infrastructure built. They had an Apple Store years before Brisbane did :D

Yes, the mining was a blessing and a curse. Lots of young people with lots of money were not prepared for the inevitable downturn as the mines shifted from construction to production. A hint of the crypto to come?

Anyway, it was also a case of a rising tide not floating all boats equally...

I think they'll try to flog the mining horse for as long as they can, because that's pretty much what QLD is doing although one can't say how well that's turning out for everyone involved. It is always hard when there are jobs and people's livelihood at stake, which is a good reason to be proactive rather than reactive about the future. I bet the Dutch are skeptical about crypto because they already saw what happened with the tulips right?

Nope, the Dutch are leading the pack! Even the banks are investigating uses and one is even looking at an account for crypto investment!

So I probably should be on the lookout for a TulipCoin then :D

Too late, you missed the boat!

https://thetulip.auction/

If I had a spare 0.31 ETH I would probably put in a bid:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65