Shootings! Guns, Gun Control.

The ownership of guns in my country is restricted and a license needed to own one within the law. Guns are still easy to come by if you really want to get one, This is not the same for other countries, as we have seen from reports on the American news media.
wp_20180412_20_12_43_pro.jpg
My pic ^^^
The main reason for guns is to kill. Killing an animal or another human. Guns are designed to kill. I am under no illusion about this, although they look cool they are not ornaments. Should they be legal, under control or just freely available to everyone. Would it make a difference?
Firstly, is there a need for guns?
If the other person has one then the answer is yes for equality and avoidance of dictatorship under the threat of violence. If no one has a gun, then someone will make one and the weapons race begins again. We have guns in our world if they are legal in a country or not. Criminals in countries who have gun control have no problems with gaining access to guns or other weapons. So the banning of guns I feel is a misplaced idealism of change.
To this, I can hear the rampaging thoughts go through some minds before they type. What about the kids who were gunned down in schools over the past years? I have 2 questions to ask any who bring this line to me. Did the gun do the killing or the person who pulled the trigger? Second question. Where were you when decades ago children from the lower income family were bringing guns to school? with metal detectors on a school entrance to detect guns being brought to the classroom.
How many guns are out there of all calibre? How many of these are used in attacks of rage or contemplated murder such as those of school shootings? Not knowing the total amount of guns and the various amounts of each type of gun off hand. I do believe it is a minuscule amount of legally owned guns that are used in these violent attacks on civilians. I am open to someone proving me wrong on this.

policeman-2585928_960_720.jpg

Source
Giving up guns and a right to bear arms where it is now permissible is a foolish thing to do. Giving up any right you have is an error of judgement. We see more and more attempts made to take control over the daily lives of the general public. With new legislation and statutes brought into being behind closed doors with no public opinion. Corruption is seen online all the time, though there may be some who are dedicated to their job. It can be seen in all area's from police to airport security right up through any Government run department. We have all at one time heard the saying with power comes corruption, ultimate power ultimate corruption. The only thing to prevent this is the ability to fight back against dictatorship. When a Government holds a gun at you, what will you fight back with? Stones?
At this point, I would like to introduce the use of powerful weapons such as automatics. I see no difference to owning one of these in comparison to any other gun. Again it is not the gun which kills that is merely the tool used. If some college student for whatever reason wants to harm other students of his school, there is nothing preventing him from stealing a cement mixer and driving it through the school complex, killing and injuring as he drives. Would this mean a countrywide ban on cement mixers?
The United States prides itself on being a nation of free souls. A land were people are free to make their own choices. These choices people make are about how they like to live. Possession of a gun is just one of those choices. People also have the choice to do good or bad, those who do bad should be dealt with through a judicial system, (though the one in place now in many countries is as corrupt as any other part of life, where finance can buy your freedom from justice). If there is power in ownership of a gun handing the gun over to another removes that power you once held.
Guns Flag.jpg
Source
Some form of regulation of guns needs to be in place. I do not believe guns should be available at the local supermarket. I believe there should be training provided on the how to use a gun safely. I believe guns will always find there way into the hands of those who wish nothing more than to do harm. These I believe are a very small minority of the mass who own a gun. People have the right to protect themselves from intruders or threats of violence. The vast majority of gun
holders do not go around shooting up schools or malls. They just live their lives and having a gun is just part of that.
If there were no guns, would people find an alternative method to destroy the lives of others when things do not go their way?

You can comment below or if you would like to discuss this topic, I am a regular visitor to the IFC group on discord. Below is a link to the group.
https://discord.gg/9rE7SmP
Presearch offers rewards for using the search engine, If you are searching out pictures, why not use presearch.
https://www.presearch.org
Affiliated links:
Universal basic income. (separate to steemit)
https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=e7ee2ff1bd

Sort:  

"If there were no guns, would people find an alternative method to destroy the lives of others when things do not go their way?"

I TOTALLY AGREE.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thank you, I find people find ways to do things they know are wrong quicker and with more ease then they do to do something good.

If there were no guns, would people find an alternative method to destroy the lives of others when things do not go their way?

Of course! They are doing it already. They've done it before there were such things as guns. It is a man eat man world out there. Not a world I want to be part of, but yet I am anyways. I will help to create the peace in ways that I can and not engage in a fight where people think it is ok to kill a person. That is how it should be.

Yup, people can be genius at finding ways to hurt each other, and stupid when it comes to helping each other. The social consciousness is all about self, with no thoughts for we.

great writing and work! insay this to you with my native word A’OO!
a big amen, i agree and Word!

Thank you. It was not easy to write, took me most of a day altogether. Thinking and re-thinking what I was trying to say. I got there in the end :)

yes its not easy putting info about how we feel and such a controversial subject. you did great! :)

Hey. I'm not totally sure why you tagged me in discord about this as we already discussed it and I thought we were done, however it sort of sounds like you want to keep going.. And.. I'm not sure how much more there is to say. I will address two of your points, though I essentially agree with the rest of what you said outside of those two points.

The main reason for guns is to kill.

That's debatable, way more people actually use guns in self defense than they do to kill. Additionally, most of the time these people using guns in self defense only wound the potential attacker or simply just point the gun at them and tell them to stop and don't even have to shoot them at all.

Some form of regulation of guns needs to be in place.

Why? So you can feel safer? Well you have no right to safety. You do have a right to defend yourself though. And trying to put restrictions on peoples ability to defend themselves is something I can't get on board with for reasons we already disussed, one of the main ones being.. The corrupt forces in power don't deserve to have any more power. They have too much already, they don't have the right, nor does anyone else to tell anyone which kind of gun they are going to use to defend themselves.

As long as someone is harming no one with their actions, they should be able to have any kind of weapon to defend themselves. That is my belief, I try to stay openminded, but doubt it will be changed.

I did not tag you to continue the convo, More to say the blog you suggested I wrote on.
I agree most have them for a defensive purpose, but the reason a gun is made is its ability to kill. That would be the reason for manufacture.
Regulation for me feeling safer no. Regulation on such a thing like each gun made should be fired and a record of the marking kept on file after that people have their gun. If the gun is used in a manner other then for self-defence there is a greater chance of finding those who used the weapon wrongly. It is not about what gun you have or your neighbour has, it's about finding a balance. This is no different to other parts of life, there has to be accountability. In a free for all world, anything goes. The bigger guns win.
The ones in power now may not be the best people to be in power, this is something completely different and needs to be addressed with a different solution. To move against the corruption is a different topic and needs people to work together.

I don't remember suggesting you write a blog on the subject?

I agree most have them for a defensive purpose, but the reason a gun is made is its ability to kill.

I could say the primary purpose is that a gun is a tool for defense and the statistical evidence is on my side, but I guess it depends on the lens you want to look through, eh?

Millions of more people defend themselves with guns than those who kill with them. Studies have been done on this.

Regulation for me feeling safer no.

Yes. In a sense, even if you try to argue that it's because you think that's right, you're arguing from a position of potential negative outcomes you would not like to experience or see others experience. What other reason could there be? Unless you were one of the elite who want to disarm us to try to have more control.

I respect you want to lessen harm, but when you try that you also lessen freedom and probably end up causing more harm in the long run.

In a free for all world, anything goes. The bigger guns win.

I think the bigger brain wins. We outnumber them 99% to 1%. They would have to nuke us to try to win, which is a possibility. But.. Then we all lose.

The ones in power now may not be the best people to be in power, this is something completely different and needs to be addressed with a different solution. To move against the corruption is a different topic and needs people to work together.

I think we should focus on spiritually evolving, rather than focusing on controlling when we get more evolved controllers.. Cause.. Once you get to that point, you realize you don't want to control others. So.. I don't see a need to enslave others when we get better rulers, I think we need to liberate and free all people. But with that freedom and liberation comes responsibility, and thus the importance of educating people in regards to right and wrong, and if we were all our own sovereign beings who loved ourselves and others we wouldn't need guns to defend ourselves in the first place.. Unless it was against wild animals or aliens from other planets or something like that.

I think education is key. A gun can save a life or it can take one.. Depending on how it is used. We need to educate people to use tools better. To defend and not unjustly prey on others.

A very good and cognizant post on a very difficult subject. I think cement trucks should be banned, think of the children, the poor poor children all covered in cement. :-} I liked the cement part as you can tell.

Yup, people can always find a way to hurt each other if they wish to do so. Generally, people do not want to go around hurting each other. If one misuse something, it does not mean that item or thing is bad, but the person behind it.

This was well written without going to far into the weeds . We hold the same opinion even that more needs to be done to keep guns out of the hands of those who should not have them without infringing on law abiding citizens

Thank you, It was not an easy task to write, I tried to cover different opinions or views in parts. But I do lean a bit more toward the freedom to choose.

thank you for your vote . Its was unnecessary , It will take you 17 hrs to get back to 100% voting power . Your vote is worth 0.0004 .
I recommend that if you feel compelled to vote then do not exceed more than 8 votes a day and only on post . :)
WOW you do a lot of restreeming I'd follow if not for that
heck I'm going to follow you anyway and see how you are doing and have someone from SSG to contact you . thay have all kinds of info to help you progress in Steemit . Their job is to help new members .

It's just my ethics, though the reward may be small next to nothing. When I do a blog I try to give those who make a comment a vote. With time the vote will be worth a bit more. and eventually I will be able to reduce the power on a slider and vote in more area's. Thank you for the tip on the SGG.

I have seen you in a couple spots . a slider is a big deal . It is so limited without it . are you using Steemworld to keep up with your voting power .
SSG is not bad and it will help with exposure .

I use steemworld a bit, I mostly keep track by using the steemd site, I check when I log in and refresh the page each time I am thinking of making a vote, I generally try to keep my vote at the 90% or above.

not bad , generally speaking I can use all the help I can get and every little program that helps is a big deal

Good article @jan23com! I believe that if it's true that a gun by itself kills no-one and needs a hand and an intention behind, on the other hand the availability is a major element for violence escalation in certain precise social dynamics. Hence I believe that this field should be strongly regulated in America as much as it's been done in many other countries like European ones, for instance. Keep up the good work my friend!

Who regulates the control I think should be in a non-profit public domain tho. there are as many illegal guns in Europe. probably more illegal than legal. (excluding military)

Well I'm not talking about a contest on who has the higher quantity of illegal guns. I'm talking about a model of regulation to adopt. As for sure here where I live you don't buy a gun in a fair, or an automatic rifle.

True, lol I have been to America and the supermarket sells them. A change is the whole of social consciousness is needed in my opinion.

Here we agree. It's a matter of social consciousness and collective values. Hard things to change ;-)

A cement mixer is a rough way to go, I'd rather be shot.

Probably, But is an example of people will use something else if one thing is not available.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jan23com from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

good article. I myself got one of my first family guns that were handed down to me from previous generations of my family when i turned 6. I recieved instructions on proper firearm handling since i could remember as a first memory as a child. I have enough guns and ammo to stop a small army and have never had any issues with any of them being involved in a crime or hurting any one. I go to the shooting range quite often sometimes on my lunch break. People want to blame an inanimate object for something a person does. That would be like me coming home and finding my wife involved in a 30 person gang bang getting 3 holed and blaming the bed because it was used in the act. It just blows my mind that people want to take my rights away as a sane, law abiding citizen because some super small amount of crazy assholes decide to do dumb shit and hurt people. If you take their guns they will simply build bombs or drive delivery trucks into crowds. Crazy people set on killing people will achieve their goal. They will just find a diffrent tool to do it with.

If everyone knew everyone had guns maybe less would shoot at each other. No we would probably end up back with high noon stuff, only these days it would be high moon. We have to start with open debate toward a solution and the wrong solution has to be avoided. removal of the gun or tool is not the answer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49