An odd response I've noticed when sharing information without endorsing it.

in #information5 months ago

image.png

Please tell me y’all also really hate the thing where you share a piece of information without endorsing it (“I read a news story that said…”, “My friend told me the reason is…”), and then a listener who doesn’t want it to be true starts aggressively arguing with you as if you came up with the claim.

It’s all the badness of arguing with reality rather than updating your model (sth very common & pernicious even though it’s idiotic - my theory is we do it as a harmful side effect of our brain’s marvellous ability to hypothesize, just like when we try to rewrite the past), personally directed at an individual who is cast in the role of defendant for reality.

At least I rarely get caught up in defending the info I am reporting anymore, thus avoiding the common nasty outcome this reaction generates.

Sort:  

It seems like you're pointing out how some people struggle with information that challenges their views, turning discussions into debates where they see you as defending a stance you're merely sharing. It's a common reaction rooted in discomfort with opposing views, but it'd be healthier for discussions to focus on understanding rather than winning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49