You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shifting Tides: The Indy Media Explosion on Steemit

in #indymedia7 years ago

I came to Steemit about a week ago because I heard I could get paid for writing what I want. It's clear that I'm not going to make money any time soon, but am staying because I want to be a part of the revolution. I am writing for myself with my strongest ambition being to build up some SP.

I've been disillusioned with the web for a while now, meanwhile what I was looking for was right under my nose. I can't stomach traditional or social media services anymore. My love affair with Google is dead. Nuking FB later this week.

Sort:  

steemit can be rough going in the beginning, believe me I know from experience. Think about joining the MSP support network on Discord - The minnow support project. it's a great initiative for newcomers.

Thank you for this reference. I'll look into it.

Don't loose heart my brother! Welcome to Steemit you will find amazing people and liberation here! I have UPvoted you and am following your work! I will resteem some of your posts starting now - I hope it helps! Keep your pecker UP! 😉

Thanks you, am also following you. My voting power should work again in a few days...

Two days now for me. Heard about it from a friend. I completely agree with your viewpoint on traditional social media. I've had the same hopes for my writing as well, for years, never found a good place to contribute, though, maybe more-so a right enough place. And yeah, now, I too, feel like staying here regardless of the outcome. It's different here, in a very interesting way. I think this post by @v4vapid illustrates a number of the reasons; content/voices I've not even come close to delving into. I'm definitely looking forward to all I've yet to discover.

I know exactly how you feel. I think of Steemit as being The New Frontier, and you bet I want to be a part of the virtual wild west. Now we have to start building our boom towns.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57