Wander Snaps #2 - Indonesia: Monkeys, Temples and Inside a Real Hindu Priest's Home 32 Photos

in #indonesia7 years ago


DSC00382.JPG

Following my Wander Blog #2, which featured my experiences in Ubud including a visit to a Hindu Faith Healer , here are more photos from that experience. Here is the link to my EAT, PRAY, HEAL adventure in Ubud, Bali if you want to know more.

You will learn more about my travel adventures and misadventures in my Wander Blog series, followed by more photos (and side stories) here in my Wander Snaps series. Please enjoy!

My solo room which looks like a temple at Alamanda Accommodation. I recommend this place as it is very clean and affordable. The owners also went of their way to take me to the Hindu Faith Healer.
DSC00304.JPG

DSC00313.JPG

Entrance to the Monkey Forest. Some monkeys like welcoming guests before they enter their temple.
DSC00453.JPG

Tourists taking photos at a safe distance from the monkeys
DSC00386.JPG

DSC00388.JPG

For both your safety and the monkeys', it is not recommended to bring food. The monkeys are fed by the caretakers of this complex.
DSC00390.JPG

The monkeys seem okay with the presence of visitors as long as you don't mind their monkey business.
DSC00402.JPG

DSC00403.JPG

The temple inside the complex.
DSC00411.JPG

The monkeys roam freely in the mini forest as well as in the temple area.
DSC00413.JPG

Time to remove those fleas and save a trip to the vet!!
DSC00423.JPG

DSC00417.JPG

Play dead!
DSC00445.JPG

DSC00440.JPG

This is home to over 500 monkeys
DSC00396.JPG

Hey there, Mr Shy Guy <3
DSC00444.JPG

Hindu school children painting trash cans at the entrance of the Holy Spring Water Temple
DSC00491.JPG

Tirta Empul Tampak Siring (Holy Spring Water Temple)
DSC00496.JPG

DSC00497.JPG

Hindu Priest at the temple
DSC00515.JPG

My trip to a Hindu Healing priest's home. You can learn more about my story in in my previous blog (Wander Blog # 2).
DSC00772.JPG

It is a spacious residential complex which houses family temples.
DSC00773.JPG

The house which also looks like a temple!
DSC00783.JPG

DSC00785.JPG

More temples inside
DSC00777.JPG

DSC00780.JPG

Grandpa (the Hindu priest), his grandson (yes, they can have a family) and my guesthouse owner preparing for my healing session.
DSC00789.JPG

DSC00788.JPG

The Hindu people are one of the most helpful and generous people I have met. They did not charge me a fee and just accepted my donation. I have read some "Hindu faith healers" who charge as much as 100 USD, please do your research if you want to try. Grandpa was recommended to me by my guesthouse owners because I was sick and not for tourism.
DSC00806.JPG

The Hindu Healing Ritual
DSC00797.JPG

DSC00796.JPG

I hope I was able to take you to my travel experience through my snap shots. On my next blog and snaps series, I will feature Ubud’s unique wedding and funeral tradition. So feel free to follow me and read more travel stories.

PS. Sorry that I posted this late. This was supposed to be out a day after my blog but I got stuck somewhere with no internet after New Year’s Eve! Happy 2018, dear Steemians!

Photos taken using Sony NEX-C3D

Sort:  

good post)) monkeys are funny only insolent little)

Thanks @pirojok007 they are really entertaining to watch and they are so clever too :)

Yeah, and constantly trying to steal something :))

Haha that is a possibility :D

very intersting post.
and many, many pics
i like pics

Thanks @koskl photos and also videos are the best way to share our travel experiences :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wanderlass
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wander-snaps-2-indonesia-monkeys-temples-and-inside-a-real-hindu-priest-s-home-32-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wanderlass to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Awesome photos. Your accommodation does look like a temple. I, initially, thought it was until I read the caption.

And it's also cheap, around 600 php for a big fan room with own bathroom. It feels like luxury for a backpacker like me :)

Wow mura nga! Dito sa pinas, 600 rate mahirap ng hanapin. Tanungin ko nga siblings ko about it.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55