In loving memory of two beautiful souls I am grateful to have encountered in Bali

in #indonesia6 years ago (edited)

I learned yesterday that two friends have died in a car crash in Bali, leaving behind thousands of heavy hearts, for they were particularly special individuals.

This is a blockchain mark of respect to Made Indra & Afi Dewi who with their music and energy brought so much light & joy to the people of Indonesia.

I will be sending all the rewards from this post to @petrabali who is like a mother to many in Bali. She took on the difficult task of delivering Afi's body to her parents in Java and more importantly she stayed with them to recount the stories so that they might know what an incredible woman she had become.

Afi leaves behind a 5 year old daughter.

Made Indra

The bass player of Indonesia's famous rock band Navicula.

750xauto-9-potret-haru-prosesi-ngaben-made-indra-bassis-band-navicula-1804049.jpg

I was able to enjoy a few musical moments with him in our eco neighbourhood, Taman Petanu (run by @petrabali). He had a very warm, loving energy. Whenever I met him he was always playing a different instrument with a big smile, and never the bass guitar he played on stage.

Afriana Dewi

His girlfriend and so much more.

She is the one with her arm on the elderly lady on the left of this shot. @chron & myself in the centre.

Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 22.17.40.jpg

I spent more time with Afi so was able to get a better sense of who she was. Like Made her energy was super friendly and it was evident immediately how much she loved helping people not only with her actions but also with her presence. Her smile was infectious and she seemed free of tradition, always ready to listen without judgement.

I remember when she lost her new phone while we were out filming together and unlike most people who go through this, she was able to smile and joke about it, happy in the knowledge that someone most likely found & kept it.

21432937_1885647108422149_8207931085419386194_n.jpg

@charitysteemit

I knew Afi because she worked with the organisation responsible for assisting the Bali volcano evacuees and after @chron & I were able to raise some money for them through @charitysteemit, she guided us on the day we handed out the solar kits, compliments of you the people of Steemit.

Here is a shot from that day in which you can see her clearly.
Screen Shot 2018-04-09 at 05.49.20.png

Beneath is the full film.

A beautiful day for Steemit and a beautiful day for the people of Bali. Thank you Afi for your help.

Indonesia is mourning the loss of a great musician this week. Beneath you can see the street procession with his body and his public cremation, as is the tradition in Bali.

The accident happened after a Navicula show in Ubud on Friday night. Made was driving them back to Denpasar when the car lost control and hit a tree.

The Bali eco family

We lived in Taman Petanu Eco Neighbourhood for two years and met many beautiful souls there (thanks to @petrabali), united always through our love of this great playground upon which we walk.

@petrabali has three daughters, one of whom you can see in this Navicula music video, wandering through the jungle. You can also see Made playing his guitar.

Life is a beautiful fragile gift and every moment we are not grateful is a moment wasted.

Thank you for sharing your light & love with us Afi & Made. You will not be forgotten 🙏🏻

indra-made-dan-pacarnya-afiriana-dewi_20180324_171436.jpg

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling the world with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet SEE MORE

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

sexy banner.png

Sort:  

My dear friend, I am so sorry to hear this. Losing loved ones is always so difficult. I am truly grieving with you. Other than my words of condolence, I have so little to offer. They sound like two lovely beautiful people who still had so much more. I have faith that through their joining our creator, a lot of lives will be touched. Unfortunately, I just gave all of my SBD to another family that was in need. I want you to know though, I'm going to go out now and see what I can do to help these great people. I truly feel for the children who are affected. Tell that beautiful family that we here are praying for them and they have all of our love. If there is anything I can help with brother, please let me know. I pray our creator will continue to guide you through these most difficult time.

I have also resteemed attempting to help.

I came here and upvoted this post, because of you. wishing you all the best...
Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 5.55.26 PM.png

To Beautiful Memories...

Thank you for your kind words and resteem :)

And thanks too for your amazing off to transfer something to Petra! I am constantly stunned at how much she is able to take on her shoulders, supporting all those around her... and she deserves all the help she can get.

The best account to send anything to is the @savetukadpetanu account, which was set up to raise awareness of the illegal mining on the river which runs past the eco neighbourhood.

Looks like this post isn't going to make too much, so I will also send something to that account.

Thanks again for your kindness.

Upvoted your post, so Sorry for you loss.

Screen Shot 2018-03-20 at 3.14.01 AM 2.jpg

To Clear Skys AHEAD... (Peace -n- Love)

Appreciate your upvote... and yes, there are always clear skies ahead when we choose to look for them :)

So true... Keep on looking for them, my friend.

This brought tears to my eyes and a heavy heart. I've been a musician for a long time and I also did my best to always uplift, inspire, and connect with the wonderful people that came to the shows. The energy I see in these pictures is that of 2 beautiful Souls that were in Love and loving life. A nice tribute @samstonehill. Even though I didn't know them, I feel like I did after seeing this. Blessings to their family and friends. Thank you. 🙏 ❤️

Thank you for your thoughts and words here. They are much appreciated.

The people left behind in the eco community must be really feeling it right now and my heart is with them.

beautiful souls have made their transition....tree of love1.png

Thanks for the words & picture

So sorry about the loss of your friends @samstonehill its all very sad and shocking.

Appreciate your words. My heart is with our friends in Bali who are feeling their absence much more than myself.

Sorry to hear about the loss, but good write-up on your end. Life - ain't it just a perpetual bitch... peppered with fleeting moments of hope and joy? Just sayin'...

Thanks buddy. Not sure I would agree with life being a perpetual bitch though ;)

My experience of it is not this at all.

That being said I feel sure the experience of physical consciousness doesn't even come close to the beauty of non physical consciousness. Though I am not in any hurry to get there and when young people die like this it is hard to not feel some sense of injustice.

So sorry for the loss of your friends. When we lose loved ones, it leaves a great gaping hole in our hearts. May they be at peace with the Creator.

I cannot claim to have known them all that well, but still felt the tears in my eyes when I heard the news.

It is more for the people who are left behind I feel sad.

Thank you for your kind words.

I have came across some money from people I have talked to today. Where can I transfer my donation my dear friend?

Thanks again for this 🙏🏻

Upvoted and re-steemed to my small number of followers

Every little bit helps

Thank you

No, thankyou for showing the human side of Steemit

I just realised that I took your words here and turned them into a post.

Thanks for providing the thought which led to this :)

https://steemit.com/family/@samstonehill/welcome-to-the-human-side-of-steemit-a-little-girl-s-first-steps

So glad I could provide some inspiration. Reading brings back fond memories of my little girl learning to walk.

I wanted to take a minute to give special Note to @barski. He is very new here and heard of this terrible tragedy from my resteem. He then gave everything that he had in his account here to help. And truthfully I believe that good deeds deserve recognition. So to him I say thank you so much for being a good loving person. To sacrifice for others is one of the many definitions of love. And he has shown good true love. Thank you @barski.

I was able to match his donation and it has been transferred to @savetukadpetanu.Screenshot_20180410-100359.png

Wow. That is pretty amazing. It's not the quantity that matters but the thought. I know what it's like when you start out here and every cent is hard earned.

@barski thank you friend. Have followed you & given what I can in the way of upvotes :)

My friend ou have that right. I hope things are going well. Thank you so much for being who you are. It's the middle of the night here(and I'm not feeling so well.) so I'll get back in touch tomorrow. Love you brother.

Yes, I really thought it was amazing too. This man has even less than I do. Yet he gave just as much. A good person this man is.
..

Friends, I thank God, for you! You do not see my tears, but they are in my eyes right now. God exists! I am touched to the depths of my soul. Let it be repaid to you 1000000 times! I began to resign myself to the fact that my posts do not earn much, I just enjoyed it. I did not expect this. I did not know what to do with the funds that my friend @ johndoer123 sent me, did not bury those means in the ground. Let them work. There is always someone who will need help. May God bless you!

Thank yous all round! Great to see this human side of Steemit.

All the best to you and hope to see you again here :)

Thank you for invitation! Of course, I'm glad to new friends!

And God bless you sir. Every Good Deed deserves to be repaid. And after you had given what you had, our creator blessed me with the ability to bless you. And Sam Stone Hill is an awesome person. However, I will let him speak for himself. Thank you so much my good friend for helping in a time of need. Brother I hope to see you around here more because we need more good people like you here. And if you should ever need anything or have any questions or concerns please let me know and I shall do what I can to help. Sending you all of my love until we meet again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50