EARTHQUAKES IN PIDIE JAYA : MY EXPERIENCE AS A VOLUNTEER (#ceritadarang3)

in #indonesia7 years ago (edited)

Okay, in this post I would like to tell you guys about my experience to be a volunteer in Pidie Jaya. As you know that Pidie Jaya suffered earthquake 7 December 2016. At least 100 people were killed, including young children, and 136 seriously injured, according to Indonesia's Disaster Management and Mitigation Agency that I read in the some media information. The shallow 6.5-magnitude quake damaged homes, shops and mosques in the district of Pidie Jaya, completely destroying hundreds of structures. No tsunami warnings or advisories were issued. The quake's epicenter was 12 miles (19 kilometers) southeast of the town of Sigli in Aceh province. Despite the lack of a tsunami warning, people go to safety places after the quake. They are still traumatized by the last big earthquake and tsunami in 2004. Actually, I was a victim of Earthquake and Tsunami 2004 and I lived in refugee camp until 2 years. So, at that time I decided to go to Pidie Jaya as a Volunteer. Honestly, I feel so afraid and still have some trauma about Tsunami experience in 2004. In the deep inside my heart, I told myself to be a brave woman. I have a scholarship group and they made fundraising in Jakarta. I know I don't have nothing to help but at least I went there to delivery some of aid from people around Indonesia.

15390713_126685827820791_9201739760720500463_n.jpg

I decided to went to Pidie Jaya three days after earthquake. I carried some of aid from the fundraising . My friend in the location told me that they really need some of aid in the form of clothe or blanket. I went alone by L300 (minibus). I was so excited with all of stuff. unfortunately, I had to wait 5 hours to find L300 to Pidie Jaya but it wasn't destroy my spirit. Finally, I reach Pidie Jaya and met my friends. There are several region in pidie Jaya and stayed in Sigli. I didn't know where I would go to deliver the aid or where would I stayed at that night. I just went there because my friend @fahrijoely said "Just go, why you still thinking about how can you sleep while many people died and injured". I felt like smashed in the face with his big hand, I mean with his word. well, after arriving, I met @fahrijoely in one of coffee shop in Sigli. Maybe some of you think why there was a coffee shop opened when the big disaster came and why coffee shop was a meeting point. I told you guys there were some of shops still opened in Sigli and I think people in Aceh cannot live without coffee shop and ngopi is important whatever situation.

Okay back to the story, I tried to contact my other friend, his name is @akbarrafs . He went to my location and we talked much about how to distributed the aid to the right location and rural places . Then, @akbarrafs offered me to stayed in his friend house. Her name is Arika Aboebakar. In my mind, I thought It will be a scared night for me living in disaster location. All of my fantasy was gone when I arrived in the house. Arika is a doctor, she is a famous doctor and many people loved her because she likes to help many people. She inspired many people especially women. She also multitalented, she has a good voice and love singing, she also write many poems. Her house is so big with beautiful interior. At that time, I didn't feel like in danger areas but when the aftershocks came again, I realized that I was in the city that will make me died in a second if Earthquake or Tsunami suddenly come.

IMG-20180106-WA0014.jpg
This is @akbarraf , he is a filmmaker. At that time he also helped me to make some documentation video.

IMG_0273.JPG
This is Dr.Arika , she is beautiful and kind.

On the next day, @akbarrafs helped me to distribute the aid. We visited some of region in Pidie Jaya. We made some survey about what location really need the helps. There were many aid from many people and government but the aid was not well distributed until rural area. On the way, I saw many building broke and many people built a tend in front their house for living. Some of them moved to safety places such as refugee camp. Then we stopped in one of gas station and met other friends @orcheva @kakilasak @fazila and bang heri the owner of gas station and also @fahrijoely. I remembered all of them still smile and happy in that chaos situation. They told me that they already distributed many aid and helped people in the damaged area. Here is the picture of us. We were smiling but in the inside of our heart we felt scared (not us maybe only me). when we took the picture, there were many people spread the hoax about the Tsunami Wave, How can I was not afraid guys?. But I felt save because all of them made a funny story and made me laugh. They also bought some of snacks and soft drinks. Do you guys think we were in picnic location?. Oh god, I didn't feel like in disaster location again.

IMG-20180106-WA0015.jpg

After all, I went back to Dr. Arika house. She already prepared a delicious food and I felt little bit sad because how can I eat a good food in that situation but I still eat (sorry). So, I spent almost a week in Pidie Jaya. I also went back to Pidie Jaya again after two weeks with @orcheva , subhan, anna, ona, and mona .

4951b1fa9620da2a7eead113a5c68013.jpg
Sorry, I only had this picture. The two of men helped me so much when delivered the donation. This picture was taken in Sare when we took some rest.

We had a donation project for children. After that, doctor Arika offered me some video projects. I stayed almost a month in Sigli. I think I had much experience there about life. Sigli is a small city but gave me a big memorize and lesson. Here are some picture I took when I in Pidie Jaya. I took many pictures but my hardisk was broke and I lost some files.

IMG_0147.JPG

15589504_134713440351363_1670167625194349241_n.jpg

FB_IMG_1515298104507.jpg

15391192_126686044487436_5713393485589795520_n.jpg

15439748_127345094421531_331082978524282226_n.jpg

IMG_0315.JPG
I really love this picture, the children still laugh although there were in sad situation.

Okay, that's all guys, I will back with other story soon.

Sort:  

I miss you, I miss that time :'(

Baik-baik di sigli hahahahaha...

Semoga keadaan sudah kembali membaik di sana. Pidie Jaya, banyak areal pertanian dengan views panorama yang bagus-bagus.

Aminnnnnn... kita doakan bersama agar tidak ada musibah lagi.

Kak darang, daniel nii, follback laah

okayyyyy sipppp

preh moto balek banda troh jula malam.. :D

hahahahhahahaa

this is fuckn awesome of your movement in there..
salute!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58