Improve Mental By Writing

in #indonesia4 years ago

PicsArt_08-27-11.36.56.jpg

At that time I got used to writing a daily journal. Apart from being fond of writing, it was also stated in several articles that writing a daily journal helps improve one's mental health. It has been more than a year of writing daily journals, more than three notebooks are filled with daily entries.

Sometimes in these journals there are entries that tell about everyday life, but there are also stories about last night's dreams, or letters to someone, a list of songs that you like at that time, playing ABC's of the five basics, even asking some friends to fill in the journal with their opinions about me. At times when I don't have anything worth writing about and remembering, I search for journal entry ideas from various websites.

It turns out that many people who provide journal entry ideas, even have a list of entry ideas for each day of the year. My enthusiasm for writing a journal also got higher when I found out that one of my friends also wrote a daily journal. Every now and then I give my journal to tell me something. Instead of having to retell it, my friends can read it themselves. Occasionally he also told the meaning of the entries written in his journal.

Every time I spend a notebook I make it a habit to reread the journal. It helps self-reflection and how self-growing. There were opinions that turned out to have changed, there were names that turned out to be no longer in everyday life, there were also events that were unexpectedly so memorable, that at that time I thought they were worth writing in a journal.

One day all the notebooks were gone. I don't know how. For days, I searched every bookshelf in the house, but nothing.

Heartache!

It was like losing a self artifact. At that time I lost a box full of movie tickets and felt the same heartache. However, the heartache of losing a notebook is far more lasting because I know everything is in the journal. There are opinions that help to lead oneself to the principles of life. There are also anger which are trivial but that turn into a laughing stock after months. A journal is a collection of feelings and a collection of perspectives that can change over time, a real form that changes not only other people, but oneself as well.

Since I lost that notebook, I lost my enthusiasm to write a journal. Moreover, every notebook I use is a gift from some friends. Besides that, my friend who used to like to write journals also doesn't often write journals anymore. I'm getting lazier to write a journal. At first I tried to write at least a week there should be one entry, after a month, one entry, gradually pausing. Total.

The past year I have had tremendous mental problems. Easily tired, easily sad, easily stressed, and other depressive feelings. I even thought about what to write a journal if it contains all the complaints? I am tired of going through the day, I want to be pretentious, I still write a journal. All the unspoken grievances pile up in one's own heart and gradually eat away at sanity and happiness. I still think it's useless to write a journal, when I read it again, I will be tired again, especially if I remember. I also had time to forget my habit of writing a journal.

Accumulative fatigue drove me to a psychologist one afternoon. There it turned out that I told a lot about it and in a question he asked, is it a habit that maybe it hasn't been done for a long time?

Oh.

There is.

I told him about my journal writing habit and the reasons why I quit. He advised me to continue writing a journal. Who knows help. Who knows, build enthusiasm again, even though most days may contain complaints and anger.

Returning from the psychologist, I took stock of notebooks in the boarding house. No matter whether it is a regular notebook, or one that is specifically for journals, I take the top one. And I started writing again. Every day, every night. If you don't have time, I'll write it the next day. So far most of the entries are still about everyday life because I want to focus on my own development, rather than having to discuss other things. I didn't forget to tell this news to my friend who used to write a journal too.

It's been a month or so I returned to writing a journal. I am happy. I returned to finding a platform and a way of letting go of myself without being judged, interrupted, and humiliated.

Sort:  

Postingan ini telah dihargai oleh akun kurasi @steemcurator08 dengan dukungan dari Proyek Kurasi Komunitas Steem.

Selalu ikuti @steemitblog untuk mendapatkan info terbaru.

Salam @ernaerningsih

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61170.16
ETH 2717.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41