Mie Caluek, Essential Food during family celebration

in #indonesia7 years ago

Some people say that home, where the heart is. Some would say once you travel and move from one place to another, those places that you left become another home for you.

I used to live abroad for almost a decade, traveled all around Europe from time to time which make me have lots of homes, families, and things that I miss alot after returning to my home country. During those years, I saw lots of beautiful things, learned how my world was just a tiny little piece among many other great things in the world . But that doesn't make my original place means nothing in compare. It just make me even realize more, that tiny little things are beautifull in their own way.

Talking about culture of my original home is like reading numbers of encyclopedia. Indonesia has very diversity type of cultures, from languages, dance, songs, cultural activities, buildings with many different historical background, and you can't just forget about the food.

I came from a little town in Aceh called Sigli ( around 3 hours from nearby airport) . We were poor enough to afford food for our daily life, but my mom was always try to provide one kind of food in anyone birthday. Honestly I am not really into it, but once left the home for years, you still might not like it, but you kinda miss it since it what home is.

The local call it as Mie Caluek, a noodles that is mixed with chillies sauce, and you can add some nut sauce as well. The thing is I recently know that this noodle is actually one special - local food , known originally from my place 😁

image

(Fyi , I download the picture from my personal Instagram and add a watermark. I couldn't put the link in it, but those who wonder might check yourself in @_rahmanovic )

What make Mie Caluek a special thing for me is beacuse it serves only during one of our family's birthday. While people were celebrating with cake, party, all other beautiful stuff, we still have Mie Caluek for ours. Even till now, even on my birthday - which is kinda weird since I am not that much into it -,. But it is kinda wrong not to have it since this is what I call home. Having this, having the feeling, having Mie Caluek itself is what I had missed all those years back in Europe.

image
(Source of the picture : http://lagualas.blogspot.co.id/2010/11/mie-lontong-cane-by-david-viradi.html?m=1 )

Can't you make one while abroad? Well I could. But it won't be the same. I believe nothing can replace what a mom have served for you. The smells of homemade food cannot be replaced in any how.

Ah, there was once where we imported the ingredients directly from Aceh, and made the noodle for almost 100 people. Me and my friends wanted to make our gathering (Aceh student gathering in Germany) more like home, so we did our best to make it happened.it was one crazy time preparing for 100 servings, but it felt wonderful to feel those home feeling with people from the same background of you while leaving abroad. Unfortunately I don't have the picture from that event

If you wanna try, you could come over to Aceh, where you are not only enjoying the tasty local food, but it serves with beautiful surroundings too ;)

Sort:  

Great post. Food is definately something you miss when your away from home and it is amazing even the stuff that you dont really like you miss, if its part of the tradition. For me its the Christmas Dinner with all the trimmings, even the Brussel Sprouts :)

Yap... I can imagine that. I used to enjoy Christmast market back in Germany... No I kinda miss it too 😁

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture competition. Good Luck

Thanks. Wish me luck ! :)

Hawa mie caluk hehe

Yok makan bang 😁

Mie caluk kakti di punteuet enak bang.., sekali mampir yyy

G tau itu dimana.. enakan buat sendiri kayaknya 😁😂😂

bang mira hahahaha

Itu lah 😂😂😂

Congratulations @rahmanovic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62497.97
ETH 2428.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65