Eid al-Fitr

in #indonesia5 years ago

05.00 am, my mom woke me up for the morning prayer. The Takbir was heard from the mosque next door. "Ah, it's the day", I said. I then took wudu and prayed.

I boiled water in a big pot as I finished praying so I could take a hot shower. My spoiled ass couldn't take a cold shower in the morning, and the hot shower is non-existent in a small village like mine unless you make an effort to afford one. In my case, boiling a hot water.

After I finished taking a shower, I got ready and put on the cleanest clothes underneath a new white mukena that my mom gave me, and left to the mosque for the Eid prayer.

The mosque in our village is not very big, so some people had to pray outside. I, along with my mom, my sisters and my grandmother also got a spot outside. I actually liked it better as I could see the blue skies and feel the breeze. Most of all, I liked how the warm sun lights hit my skin. I have to admit that I am a little bit obsessed with the sun lights.

The bright sky

The Takbir had echoed from the Imaam and all of the people there. I could feel the emotion started to rise up a bit inside me. Thinking about how fast Ramadhan ended and not knowing if I could still have a chance to experience it again the following year. Thinking about all the bad things I did to my family, but also feel grateful that I could get a chance to spend Eid with them this year.

People in my village

After we finished the prayer, I burst in tears as I apologized to my mom who was sitting next to me. I felt bad for not being there for her on so many occasions and I wished I had been a better daughter to her.

Eid al-Fitr is the moment where people forgive each other and it gives me a peaceful feeling. Seeing people reunite and reconcile with each other is so heartwarming and somehow... liberating.

My brother with my mom

How was the Eid in your place?
Hope it filled with love and happiness.

Eid Mubarak!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62808.61
ETH 3464.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53