DTube - The Biggest Rice Terraces in Bali - Jatiluwih

in #indonesia6 years ago (edited)

Jatiluwih! The name means "really special/beautiful". It is the biggest area of rice terraces in Bali. Rice terraces are a pretty well known thing about the island. You could say they're kind of a big deal. If you have been to Ubud, you know how beautiful the rice terraces are, but you also see how many tourists are crawling all over them too. That takes away much of the charm of them, in my opinion.


Click photo above to view video

The terraces in Jatiluwih are much less visited because the location is pretty far from the tourist hotspots like Ubud and Kuta. It is a 2 hour drive to get there from the Kuta area. The best way to get there is by motor scooter. Or you can spend the money to pay for a driver for the day, if you prefer. The cost to enter was 40,000 Rupiah (3 USD) when I went last year. Since prices are constantly rising in Bali it could cost more by now.

20170103_150640.jpg

There are miles of walking trails around and through the terraces so you can spend hours there just walking, taking photos, finding temples and shrines dotted here and there... And one of the best parts about it is that you will only see a few other tourists there.

20170103_150420.jpg

When you get hungry, there are great little local restaurants called warungs where you can eat very good local food, including the Balinese specialty Babi Guling (roast suckling pig). They offer nice views too. This photo of the rainbow was taken while I was eating.

20170103_155406.jpg

I suggest leaving early to get there in the morning and see everything before lunch because there are many other things to do and see in the same area, such as waterfalls and temples. I attempted to find a waterfall that I saw on my map app, but it was not successful since I could not find the entrance to it. It was pouring rain at that time too so I just headed back as it got dark.

Have you seen some of the rice terraces in Bali?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=yuwslmi7


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Bali is such a beautiful place, I must visit.
Thumbs 003.jpg

Indeed it is. The most beautiful spots are away from the tourists.

Congratulations @daveonarrival! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Perfect shot with the rainbow! I wanted to see the dtube but my internet is so slow :/ I didn't get the chance to see the rice terraces in Bali. And I like the babi guling too, it's similar to PH lechon :)

Aww, you'll have to go back and see the terraces. The food in Bali is super good.

More reasons to go back to Indonesia :)

Man I always love seeing images of rice terraces. What's even cooler to me is how they irrigate them. Brilliant. This looks like a peaceful place. The kind that's so peaceful time slows down.

It's amazing how they engineer them. It is definitely peaceful there.

I find getting lost the best way of finding oneself.

love the rice terrace fields. and the last picture is the best!

Thank you. I felt lucky to see the rainbow over the terraces.

Around the minutes 5.33 is that simply a religious procession or a marriage ? With the rainbow the location is even more beautiful :) :)

I'm not sure which it was. I know they have parades like that for weddings but I didn't see a bride and groom. I don't know what else it would be, though.

Thanks for your response If there is no bride or groom probably it would be just a simply religious parade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58