2,5 Weeks on Bali - #3

in #indonesia6 years ago (edited)

20170907_102704.jpg

On day 3 we visited a few hotspots on the island with a driver. It was a weird experience to be honest. For most 'Western' people it's not super super expensive: less than 45€ for a car with a driver (including gas) for the whole day. If you're with two people, or even four, it's a good deal. But for most people that live on Bali it is super expensive of course and that made me feel kind of bad about it. There were more examples like this that sometimes made it hard to fully enjoy the holiday, but I guess that's just part of visiting 'less developed' countries. It was really weird for me to feel so rich when I'm just a 'regular' person back home. Our driver was provided by the B&B where we were staying. He was our age, really nice and he waited patiently for us at each stop.

The first stop was Goa Gajah, or Elephant Cave.
20170907_092047.jpg

20170907_092158.jpg

20170907_092415.jpg

The entrance of the cave is some sort of beast. Inside there's a corridor that leads to a T-junction. At the end of one side there's a 1 meter high statue of Ganesha with four arms (the Hindu god with the elephant head). At the end of the other side there are three linga, representing the manifestations of Shiva. The cave probably dates from the 11th century. The complex contains both Hindu and Buddhist imagery. The cave was rediscovered by Dutch archaeologists in 1923, but the fountains and pool were not discovered until 1954.

20170907_092625.jpg

To visit Goa Gajah you have to descend quite a few stairs. When you're below you're surrounded by lush green beautiful vegetation. Amazing!
20170907_093309.jpg

I was fascinated by this amazing tree
20170907_093512.jpg

20170907_093539.jpg

On to the next stop. We passed some rice paddies on our way to Gunung Kawi.
20170907_101625.jpg

20170907_101931.jpg

It's a complex of ten rock carved candi's (a candi is a Hindu or Buddhist temple in Indonesia) from the 11th century. They were probably made to honour the royal family from the Udayana dynasty.

20170907_102417.jpg

In Bali people make offerings to different Gods everywhere. But the amount of offerings at this temple was bizar. It looked fantastic! But of course that means there's also a lot of waste. Sadly the waste was dumped along the mountainside not that far from the offering site.
20170907_102704.jpg

Poeh, that's a lot of pictures for one blog and I'm not even halfway through the day. I'll save the rest for later :)

Hope you enjoyed it and see you soon!

Sort:  

Looks like you're having a wonderful time... that tree!!!

Spent our honeymoon in Ubud and Lombok and promised to go back 5 years later... it's now been 6 and we have some major wanderlust... this place is on our wish list!!!

https://www.facebook.com/matadornetwork/videos/10156044490119394/

Amazing! I wouldn't wait another year if I were you ;P

very nice nature and country

Yes! Check out Indonesia if you ever get the chance. Amazing food too <3

Stunning. I really need to go there someday.

Thank you for the post!

Yeah, I really recommend it :)

my country
thank you for visiting

It's beautiful. Where do you live?

I live in the province of Aceh, indonesia.
Please visit my blog

Nice. I hope to visit that area too in the future :)

Went to Bali on my honeymoon. It quickly became my favorite place. The people there are amazingly nice and service everywhere we went was always top notch. The culture is also fascinating and different than I have ever experienced.

I can imagine Bali is the perfect honeymoon location <3 Where on Bali did you stay?

We stayed in Ubud. Had a room with a private pool. And yes it was the perfect honeymoon location. Everything about Bali is romantic.

Nice :) touristy with a lot to do but still somewhat authentic and not as busy as e.g. Kuta. I'll be posting a bit more about Ubud and then we'll be heading East and later North. Keep an eye out if you'd like to follow our journey :)
Have a nice day!

Gorgeous pictures for a gorgeous destination. The balinese are some of sweetest and most generous people I've come across.
If you can check out the Ubud Hanging Gardens hotel, it's such a stunning place:

Nice :)
I'm interested in different religions... in a few days I will travel to southeastasia and I want to see Indonesia too.
I'm really excited to see the themples

Awesome! Will you be blogging about it? Then I'll definitely follow you :) have a great time and never accept someone's first price ;P

yes I will blogging :) So it would be nice if you following me :)

A great opportunity to explore the entire region on the island of Bali, certainly very much the things that have been @best-pomchi-ever
get there as long as we have shared with us. send regards for success @best-pomchi-ever.

Wow. very nice photography. my friend

Thank you :D we didn't wanna bring a big camera so these are just smartphone pictures O:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93