Secession should be considered a human right. Where is the social contract these people signed?

in #individualism7 years ago (edited)

This is what happens when we don't respect the individual mind. Human beings turn into cattle.

But who is which in the video above?

Even a dictator pulling strings is in his own way a slave to puppetry.

Sort:  

Edit: The video was taken down. I should have used D.Tube.

Here is a summary where you see part of the footage from the event where the police kicked voters while they were still on the ground.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/riot-police-stamp-kick-men-11269518
http://www.express.co.uk/news/world/860960/catalonia-referendum-spain-map-independence-barcelona-police-basque-civil-guard-polling

I generally don't endorse selfvoting, but will employ it here to increase visibility of this comment since I can't edit the original post.

I've had my democrat friends and republican friends tell me they support the Spanish government putting down the referendum for Catalan independence. Then I ask them, "By that logic, an abusive husband has the right to beat the shit out of his wife when she asks for a divorce?" To this they only respond with, "Well, uh that's different." In my mind it isn't. Both parties want to separate from their abusive relationships peacefully.

Though I would never excuse that sort of abuse anyhow, the marriage might at least have been consensual at first. The State never was for anyone.

Personally I favor that there is a written, previously agreed upon law, rather than no law. But it should always start as an actual voluntary agreement and from that basic legal framework we could come up with more advanced agreements within (or without).

If some partys opinion on a given contract changes later on, we would have to weigh the consequenses of exit in court. But then it would never involve inherited compulsion and I would still of course always want to minimize violence.

WTF is happening in spain?
I thought this sort of thing only happened in Murica.

I think this could happen pretty much anywhere. States don't like serious competition. Peaceful or not. Especially not when cattle running away could be financially harmful to and create a cultural precedent for leaving the plantation, I mean corporate monopoly, I mean stable nation state, I mean beloved country.

This video is a challenge to comment upon with history facing us. Even without clear knowledge and understanding in those days, my heart would sink nightly over the peoples of Biafra. Obviously, I can go on, but at least you know that I'm not just another pretty face at the Agora.

Finding the right practical response to these sort of situations is a very complicated issue. But at least I think we can always come up with better ideas and ones we know them, we can always work to implement some of those ideas in our everyday lives without necessarily hitting our heads directly against this level of force.

Small changes make a big difference over time and with repetition.

Insane. Police shouldn't even be shoving criminals down stairs and dragging them by their hair, let alone ordinary citizens. Were the people just trying to vote?
BTW you should post more, hope you are feeling well!

They were trying to vote and then I believe they refused to leave. No matter what excuse was used to rationalize the behaviour of the police, I think I'll have a hard time accepting it.

Doing well personally, thanks ^

Remember these images when your government decides to disarm you.

Yes. That right there is the literal boot of the state clamping down on the people for disagreeing. He knows full well that these people are unarmed too.

I secede from the human race.

I hope that doesn't mean I'm the only one left... but in any case, I'll let you go friend.

Individuals don't become stronger by enslavement. A dictator of others never experiences the true power of independence.

If any individual argues in favour of a 'constitution' rather than the living, breathing preferences of human beings then they no longer warrant attention, and this is why Catalans can and should reject the consideration of the Spanish and pursue independence in their own way according to their own preferences.

In terms of actual law, I favor contracts over preferences, but these people were all born into slavery anyhow and that's what Spain wants to perpetuate. Not that I think the Catalans really want full individual independence or have even heard of contractual law, but at least they are moving in the right direction.

A contract is only worth as much as the integrity of the person who signs it. It's all well and good having a contractual basis on which to do this and that but if you're making contracts with untrustworthy people, you only have yourself to blame when they consistently break them.

At least everyone has a good camera nowadays being able to document what is going wrong. I wonder how this police man can sleep at night, their lives must be terrifying, it makes me sad to see such a thing going on.

Oh my god...its so hard challange for me..but nice job and nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65