You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Perils of Collectivism

I've read some of her books, but I'm only familiar with objectivism in passing . There are some sound tenets in it that I appreciate like self-interest, reasoning requiring volition/free will, individualism, among other things though I get the impression it's very Aristotelian at its foundation.

Nothing wrong with that, just that sort of style of thinking can become to "closed-off" and in my opinion serves better as a starting point or frame of reference than as a system to follow.

Sort:  

Completely agree with you there, when I first read "Atlas Shrugged" I was exhilarated, I thought - finally, something that I can relate to, but soon the reality dawned and started finding more and more flaws with the philosophy for her's... but having said that, it was THE most influencing book I have read in my lifetime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34