Why Offline Google Input Tools Are Discontinued? Any Alternative?

in #india6 years ago

As usual my Windows PC keep behaving erratically. But today, it started to hang every few minutes making it difficult to work on anything. After I lost my drafts multiple times, I decided to quit using my PC.

Initially I was planning to write a post in Hindi. But when I switched to my laptop, I found I had uninstalled Hindi language input tools from it. So I want to re-install Google Input Tools for Hindi typing on Windows. But now it's been hours that I couldn't figure out how to do that!

Earlier it was so easy. We just need to visit the Google Input Tools website and there was an option to download a file for Windows for offline use. But unfortunately, Google has discontinued this option for some months. Last month, one friend on Facebook was asking for an option to type in Hindi. I thought it's so simple that many will guide him for it. Still, I checked the Google input tool website and got confused when I didn't find any option to download for Windows. But at that time, I thought there must be some other way. That friend too didn't express any trouble. But today, I was lost. I couldn't find any official website from where I can download it.

Now, I see that there are several websites and youtube video tutorial to guide you to how to get these files now. But in the absence of any reputable source, I do not dare to download any file. Who knows if there are some malware in it?

I do have a facility to type Hindi in my laptop but actually, I don't know typing. I used to type it through transliteration. Google had introduced this service for Indic lanuages and after its popularity, it was renamed as Google Transliteration IME and was offered as free offline tool in December, 2009. This made communicating in Indic language fonts very easier for everyone.

But now neither the online IME (Input Method Editor) is functional at https://www.google.com/ime ; nor is the link for input tools for Windows working any more:
https://www.google.com/inputtools/windows

So I'll need to think of some other ways to post in Hindi now.

  • Do you have any suggestion?
  • How do you type in Indic languages now?
  • Is there any authentic source from where I can get the original Input Tools' files for Windows?

I don't want to use Chrome Extension on offer as I don't want to be bound by one browser for my work.

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Sorry, had to downvote this to organize a fair distribution of Steem Bounty on this post!

Yes, you are right. Seems it is discontinued for windows and I also couldn't find any alternative for it. If there is any will let you know.

Thank you for your efforts! I'll be waiting for your input.

I posted a couple of my blogs on here in French but I just copy and pasted my original post into google translation and then copied and pasted the french translation that google gave me.

Well, I'm looking for a simple tool that works offline ...even when I ain't connected to internet but want to write something.

Google translate is not perfect, and sometimes totally absurd. You can not trust the translation, you need to proofread.

There are quite a few offline sofware tools you could use for PC I think Babylon and Promt are good options but they are paid services. If you're not keen on purchasing it you may have to look to torrents for a key or finding a cracked version

Well all these tools are actually translation tools and they are not available for Hindi. I think, you didn't get what I'm looking for. I'm looking for transliteration typing tool for Hindi language typing

You got a 4.17% upvote from @upme thanks to @xyzashu! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% from your share, daily payouts ( no commission ).
Quick delegation links: 25SP | 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

@xyzashu has set 2.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Congratulations @xyzashu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @xyzashu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.914 which ranks you at #3887 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 3883).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #270.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75