[Humanitarian travel] My first stop in India - Varanasi

in #india8 years ago (edited)

Hi it’s me again, but from India!!!



This country is completely different from what I saw and lived. It is full of contrast… For me is very difficult to translate through words what I felt when I arrived here. When I went out from the airport in Delhi, in my first breath, I felt like a heavy air, full of smells (that I realize that it is famous smell that I read, so the traditional smell). 


Then I took an airplane to Varanasi, and in the airplane I thought it will be amazing, because all I saw from the plain is everything green and beautiful. But guess what, when I took the taxi to the city center, I thought “I want to go home again, why do I came?” But it was the first impact, because all the way I saw a lot of people on the road, a lot of traffic (believe everything that you read about the traffic in India, and when you thing that it was awful, it is worst…), a lot of cows ones fat and others very thin, sheep and dogs… And I was so afraid in the car... Then when we arrived at city center I felt like claustrophobic, because all the street are full of people, cars, motorcycles, “riquexos/tuk tuk” and bicycles, and the streets are very small. 


However, in my country we said that there is nothing that a good sleep night cannot solve, and happened with me… 


In the morning I went out from the hostel and I didn’t felt like home, but I felt like it is really different, it is amazing how these people can live and be happy here. All the confusion that scared me the night before, surprised me in a good way. A lot of people in the street say Namaste and hello to you! Don't think that everyone say hello to you just to be nice, most of people want to sell something... 


So I think that it is a city of contrast, you are forced to see beauty and it is in little things. The colors of the clothes are beautiful and very happy!!! 


The only thing that it is not so good is the river, because these days it has been very high so anybody cannot walk on the river banks! But we saw already a cremation and a ceremony (it is impossible to take a photo, but you can find on google) that I cannot write the name, I don’t remember the real name, but it was with fire also… Yes cremation is one of the attractive ceremony that happened near the Gange’s River. In the Gange's river they took a bath to be blessed by the gods, they believe that all the problems will be healed.


I forgot to say that we see a lot of cows that are sleeping in middle the main street and they are as roundabouts. 


The monkeys are very traditional and seems very cute, but believe me they attack us! We were scared about it! Even the indian guys has afraid from them!


In the last day in Varanasi we tried to go Kashi Vishwanath Temple, but the police didn't let us to enter. But it was a very strange situation, because first you can't enter with your stuff, so we needed to put in lockers outside as your shoes. Then after enter in the gates, we just saw a lot of little shops selling gifts to the Gods. When you see one entrance to the temple you must go see the police and they decide if you enter or not. With us they decided that we cannot enter. So I don't know how it is.



The big airplane that brought me to India!


The beautiful sun, the crowd, the motorcycle, a little bit of the confusion of the city and cows!






The hostel where I stay, there is very nice people. I loved to stay there!  If you search by Kautilya Community, you can find.



The rooftop!





 The colors...


Gange's River


 This is an offer for the Gods!


He his happy because he took a bath in the Ganga's River...


This picture was taken in the last day in Varanasi, you can see the height of the river!


The simplicity of this people!


    If you want to sleep, just lay down...


  I cannot forget our friend Dinesh from the Gauri Café, where we had dinner all days. And his tea of ginger, lemon and honey that is amazing!



For now I’m happy to come… The stay here in Varanasi was very short, but worth it!!!


I'm sorry for the late post, but it wasn't easy. I arrived to Manali on Saturday, so the next post I will report everything that happened this last week. I'm sorry because I didn't talk about Delhi but when I come to there I will post about it...


See you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44