What I miss about India? 5 things

in #india7 years ago

Having recently moved to the states and starting to 'live the dream', I somehow long for the things back in my home country that I always sought to escape. Although, there are numerous things that constantly remind me of my life in India, here are the 5 top thing:

  1. Over-population: This used to irk me the most in India but now I realize that I was a part of the Indian crowd and it is a part of me. I miss the hustle-bustle. And this may sound funny but to an extent, I really miss being elbowed shoved by people in public places. I miss people talking, smiling, laughing and leading a happy and carefree life no matter how rich or poor they were.

  2. Driving: I used to hate driving in India. The roads were always so crowded but that is one aspect that I miss a lot. In the USA, you need to follow certain rules no matter what, which in itself is a great boon. However, I miss driving on Indian streets subconsciously without having to worry about HOV.

  3. Cheap yet comfortable living: This is one thing that I miss A LOT. In India, you never thought twice before spending money on everyday commodities but in the USA, I need to convert everything to INR. I lost my key the other day and now I have to pay $75 to get it replaced. I probably could have gotten a new key made for Rs. 1000(~$15). I miss having the financial liberty to own a washing machine, a dryer, a shoe stand. As a student, I am living hand to mouth.

  4. Festivals: This is the first time that I won't be celebrating an Indian festival properly. I never took a particular interest in celebrating most festivals but now I miss them dearly. The colour, the lighting, the water, the smiles, the gifts and the food - I miss it all!

  5. Weather: Never did I truly understand how much I valued the 'extremeness' of weather in my hometown - New Delhi. From hot days in summer to zero degree night in winters, I got the chance to experience spontaneous and refreshing seasons back home.

Enjoy your life where ever you are. Make the most of your days no matter where you live. Now I understand that the saying 'Home is where the heart is' is spot on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55