Saint Kabir's story: Reading and listening to good stories every day does not lead the mind towards bad deeds

in #india3 years ago

Image of Saint Kabir

One man said to his son, You should listen to the discourse every day. One day the boy approached Saint Kabir and said, Gurudev, I have studied a lot. I know my pros and cons very well, yet my father constantly tells me to listen to the discourse. You tell me, why do I need a Satsang?

Kabirdas listened to the boy very carefully. Without answering he picked up a hammer and hit the nail on the ground. The boy walked away. The next day he came to Kabir again. The boy said, "I asked you that question, but you did not answer." So I'm back today.

Saint Kabir once again picked up the hammer and struck it on the nail. The boy thought, maybe even today he is silent. On the third day, he reached Kabirdas again and asked the same thing again.

Kabir Dasji hammered on that nail again. Now the young man spoke anxiously, "Why aren't you answering me?" I have been asking you a question for three days.

Then Saint Kabir said, I am answering you every day. I am strengthening his grip on the ground by hammering on this nail. If I do not do this, the animal tied to it will move out of the ground by moving or stumbling.

Saint Kabir explained that discourse works the same way for us. Good words constantly strike at our mental nails, so that our holy feelings remain firm. The youth showed Kabir the right direction. Doing Satsang daily strengthens the truth in the heart and removes untruth. Therefore Satsang should be an indispensable part of our life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95