Hiring new member to the team is not fun at all

in #india6 years ago

Two weeks back an associate from my team resigned his job for doing his higher studies. Because of that we are currently in the process of hiring a new associate to the team. We have been asked by the HR team to look for an associate internally. We did an internal job posting so that people from other teams can apply. As expected we received around 7 applications. I'm looking for a technical person with good analytical and logical skills.

To make the recruitment process easier, we decided to keep a test as first round and based on how they perform in the test, we thought we can interview them. Preparing questions for the test was quite challenging. I had to think for simple logical question that will test their analytical skills as well. I'm not looking for a hard core developer but I want them to incline more towards development. As part of the first round I also asked them few technical questions as well. But they were given freedom to write answers in simple English. My focus was not to corner them but to understand their capabilities.

So after the written test, I evaluated the papers and only 2 associates among the 6 who appeared for the test were able to clear the test. The associates were from a support background so only 2 out of 7 were able to clear the test. But the associates that we have shortlisted have some issues. One person is in a high salary band and another person is having behavioral issues. We are in the state of confusion now. One guy looks technically strong but very tough to handle and handling him had been a very big challenge for people managers.

We can also get an associate or even a graduate from outside. I'm happy to even onboard a fresher. But the problem is that I will have to spoon-feed everything from the beginning. It can even take more than 4 months to onboard a new employee from outside and that is also one of the reasons why we are focusing on getting someone from inside itself. This has been a headache for both myself and my manager for the past few days. We have been having continuous meetings to make a decision on this. We still have no idea when this will end.

From all the above, I don't find recruitment to be really an amazing thing. I guess all the people managers will have to go through this phase to hire an efficient candidate for the team. Have you been though similar situations in your job? If yes share your experiences in the comments section.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://bala-blog.com/hiring-new-member-to-the-team-is-not-fun-at-all/
Sort:  

Hahaha, thanks for stating the hard truth.
IMO the newer batch of people lack the conviction and dedication towards the job they are applying. The people who gains a little knowledge on the field thinks themselves as of veterans. While the others are too scared to apply...
I know the feeling of sadness when we are made to settle of someone with attitude problem because others are afraid of stepping up.

I don't know how many interviews I have taken and how many I have rejected just because of their attitude. Some just show up for the sake of interview calls and don't bother to dust up their skills or to do a simple Google search about the company they are applying for..

Tsk...tsk... Spoils the day.

Sometimes I feel very sorry for the HRs... 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you are the one saying the hard truth in just simple sentences. This is exactly the state of recruitment. Finding the right employee is really challenging in my case even though I have good support from the managers and HR.

When the candidates appear for the interview they are kind of diplomatic in the way they answer but when it comes to actual work they show their real faces. That's what makes the job challenging for us. 😁😊

Posted using Partiko Android

It sucks bro.. or are we expecting too much from them.

Given the present day technology everything is available just at the click of the button. So why is it that we are failing to find a suitable candidates.

Posted using Partiko Android

What helped me is to look at test results, but rather how they would fit and click with the team, what are their values and ambitions, how does it fit into the present culture etc. Hiring is really tough, based on my experience I changed the approach as far as the corporation allowed and it worked. Hope this will help you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes true @src3. But one freedom that I have is that my manager is so flexible and he understands the difficulties because he sits with me in the panel. In our case HR is also very cooperative but we are in the state of confusion to pick the right candidate.

Posted using Partiko Android

On behalf of Partiko I would like to invite you to download Partiko: https://partiko.app/referral/pragas888 - it's our mobile application for #Steem, and it's currently trusted and used by more than 30,000 #Steem users. It's available both on IOS and Android. Best part is you can earn Steem faster on Partiko by inviting your friends and earning Partiko Points.

Screen Shot 2019-02-19 at 3.08.12 PM.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79