My journey to Mayawati Ashram, Lohaghat-part 1.

in #india5 years ago

Greetings steemians!

I had a chance to visit Lohaghat, Champawat district, Uttarakhand. So, I hired a taxi to go there with my friends. We also had a plan to visit Mayawati Ashram, a abbey belonging to Ramakrishna mission which is a prominent social welfare organization working all over India and abroad.

qdhbrrxthh.jpg

The ashram (abbey) was founded by James Henry Sevier, and Charlotte Sevier in 1899 at the behest of swami Vivekanand who was the founder of Ramakrishna mission.

980839ukyr.jpg

It is a philanthropic religious organization. Mayawati Ashram is the center of advaita darshan,hence there are no idol worshipped.

n59z3lpjnc.jpg

e86gs4gg0t.jpg

We reached the ashram around 12 pm. It was the time of meditation of monks there. So, they were not ready to let us enter the ashram. However, they allowed to see some parts of the ashram. We gladly accept their proposal and spend some time there.

I took some photos there. I could not take pictures of the main areas as it was not allowed there to take photos.

I'll provide the other details in my next post.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74