Dan Edmonds - two thirds of a fifth

in #independent5 years ago


 

When my old band, Harlan Pepper, called it a day in late summer 2015, I catapulted into unknown territory. The first result of these explorations was my debut solo album, Ladies On The Corner, released on Missed Connection Records back in 2016.

My newest album, Softie, set for release on November 22nd, is an exploration of more ambitious sonic landscapes and grooves. I co-produced it alongside Graham Walsh who’s worked on records by METZ, Sam Roberts Band and his own act, Holy Fuck.

“two thirds of a fifth,” the LP’s opening track and first single, is an internal dialogue about trying to overcome anxiety with compassion. Written the night before our first recording session for Softie, I really feel like this is the sound of me coming into my own as a songwriter.

–– Watch the music video for “two thirds of a fifth” on YouTube now! ––


–– Keep in touch on Instagram, Facebook & Twitter ––

Softie was inspired by the art and music that I was consuming at that time. Paul Klee’s paintings – his use of colour and form – had a profound influence on me during the recording of this project. The feeling I have when seeing abstract expressionism is one that I’m still attempting to translate into song. I was also listening to quite a bit of hiphop during this time, specifically Gang Starr and MF DOOM.

I hope that you enjoy my new music! We experimented endlessly to blend traditional sounds with something more contemporary. Most importantly, though, was the community of artists who helped nurture and build Softie. They supported me, and I’m endlessly grateful for that.

All the best,

Dan Edmonds

 

–– Check out Under The Radar’s exclusive “two thirds of a fifth” premiere: http://www.undertheradarmag.com/news/dan_edmonds_shares_video_for_new_track_two_thirds_of_a_fifth/ ––





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://indie-music.com/im/dan-edmonds-two-thirds-of-a-fifth/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87