Lessons In Concentration - Leave Your Comfort Zone And Achieve Focus

in #incredibleyou6 years ago

concrete_eye.png

Your comfort zone can best be described as the point at which you are using minimum effort to achieve a particular result or set of results.

So if you have a repetitive 9-5 job, then you are in your comfort zone pretty much everyday while you're at work. This is because repetition breeds familiarity, and once you're familiar with something you become comfortable doing that thing.

In our series Lessons In Concentration, we have been looking at various techniques to improve our focus and concentration, which has been invariably destroyed by modern living.

Things like smartphones, social media, email and easy access TV shows have all contributed to killing our focus. Now I'm going to show you a way of using your comfort zone to get it back.

The Effort Of Focus

It is fairly obvious that it takes focus and concentration in order to learn a new and complex task. This is because as you learn new things you are creating brand new neural pathways in your brain that match to the task you're learning.

For instance if you are learning to play football (soccer), neurons in your motor cortex are firing along with ones in your visual cortex, cerebellum and other parts of the brain helping you learn the new skills you are being taught.

At this early stage of your learning, you have no choice but to concentrate on the instructions you are given. If you do not do this, then you will not be able to learn how to play very well.

This is true of anything you are learning, when you are first introduced to a task, your concentration levels are going to be at a premium.

However once you have gotten over that initial hump, things will start to become more 'natural' to you. Rather than thinking implicitly about each distinct movement you make in your football lessons, you will start to do things more instinctively.

This is a round about way of saying; practice makes perfect.

Flattening Out The Curve

We often refer to this early stage of learning as a learning curve. That is to say we are imagining a curve drawn on a graph, whereby the bottom axis represents time and the vertical axis represents difficulty.

The curve starts from bottom left to top right and the steeper it is drawn, represents how difficult it is (or has been) to learn the task at hand.

At some point (if we carry on learning till we are skilled) the learning curve flattens out and we gain no new knowledge for our task.

But wait! How is this possible? Does this mean that if we carry on at something we can learn everything there is to learn about a particular subject?

No, rather it means that after a particular amount of time without any new stimulus, we have learned all that is possible for us to learn about that subject.

Getting Out Of The Zone

Sticking with the football analogy let's look at the current FIFA World Player Of The Year, the Portuguese footballer Cristiano Ronaldo.

In 2013 Ronaldo won the World Player Of The Year award after missing out on it four times in a row to the Barcelona forward Lionel Messi.

At the time it was reported that Ronaldo had hired an extra team of trainers to take him to the next level and become the best player in the world.

In other words he realised that he had gone beyond the point whereby he wasn't learning anything new, so decided to push himself out of his comfort zone in order to do so.

Ronaldo was already a star at Real Madrid, earning big wages, he didn't need to try and improve but he wanted to, and he realised the only way to do that was to get out of his comfort zone.

The Focus Of Effort

So how to use this maximum effort phenomena to practical use?

Quite simply put, you have to find something new and difficult to do, like learning a new skill like painting, or a new language like Mandarin.

By doing this you are getting your brain used to the fact that you love doing difficult things, and also to concentrating on a higher level.

Ultimately this will help you to focus and concentrate on tasks you need to complete and goals you need to reach.

WHAT ABOUT YOU; HAVE YOU TRIED SOMETHING DIFFICULT RECENTLY? OR ARE YOU THE SORT OF PERSON WHO RUNS AWAY FROM DIFFICULTY. AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Title image: Len dela Cruz on Unsplash

Cryptogee

Sort:  

Its said that

energy flows where the attention goes... So true we dnt want to leave our comfort zone.. N read somewhere crabs try to get rid of old shells otherwise they will die n not grow.. I guess its quite similar to us as well.. I love your motivational series otherwise your other stories goes bouncers to me... Cg

So I am letting go of my comfort zone of not reading your difficult post... I try to read ur story manytimes trying to understand:).. Thanx for sharing.. Hoping to improve my english with you

)

@cryptogee I hear ya. I've been contemplating learning how to code for a while now, with a particular interest in Ui/Ux design but am all too comfortable with my 9-5 job. I feel i will wake up one day and see that I haven't achieved anything. I hope it never comes to that

Go to codeacademy.io and take the free HTML, followed with the free CSS course, do it when you get home from work, substitute watching tv for learning to code :-)

I feel i will wake up one day and see that I haven't achieved anything.

That is exactly what will happen unless you do something about it.

Cg

Thanks. I will start right up with the basics

"focus"
What is a genius?
or something between those lines is the title of my next post that I am working on about the relation between "continuity" or being able to focus as long as you can and being a "genius" like Einstein and ultimately, Jesus C.
I am making 3 parts of it because of it's kinda lengthy but also taking my time because once it on the chain it can't go back again lol

Good subject, I'm looking forward to reading :-)

Although I fail to see how Jesus (even if you believe in him) was a genius, a martyr yes, genius no :-)

Cg

yea I kinda took an angle on it ...will tag you in it to know your take or re-take ;)

@cryptogee,

Quite simply put, you have to find something new and difficult to do, like learning a new skill like painting, or a new language like Mandarin.

... like painting, or an new language like Mandarin or getting a $10 post pay-out on f"""ing Steemit. Scrub that last one ... stick to Mandarin. It's easier.

HAVE YOU TRIED SOMETHING DIFFICULT RECENTLY?

Yeah. I've tried to get a $10 post payout on Steemit.

ARE YOU THE SORT OF PERSON WHO RUNS AWAY FROM DIFFICULTY?

Cryptogee, my friend, if any of us were the type of people who ran away from difficulties ... we wouldn't be reading your damn post.

Quill :-)

Nearly Everything That Generates Enduring Value Requires Effort, Focus, And Discomfort
There is no success without considerable effort.
Consistent effort has a lot to do with your success.

To achieve high- level success, creating simplicity and effectiveness is ... Go deep enough to know your business and focus on solving specific problems.

Efford is more important in our life...without efford success is nothing... The simple fact is that it takes a combination of skills...I believe that knowledge and the desire to learn is more important than the focus on success...and luck is very important...

I have noticed that the older I get, I need to concentrate more especially to absorb new information. However, I feel I have more time, so I guess it all works out.

I follow you, please follow me, sir. I'm totally new to Steemit. Hope you will follow me and help me get filled up by Upvoting. Thank you so much.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 88 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66