You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Retirement: Active Income from SteemIt

in #income7 years ago

While I have been powering down for this active income stream method for two weeks and I have powered down for separate weeks before that, I have not encountered any negative effects.
Having said that there is one negative effect that I know of, if you do not immediately Power Up the STEEM you are not withdrawing, then you lose a little on the compounding interest the STEEM inflation rate gives you on your STEEM Power balance.

For this reason, I chose a power down time that allows me to immediately perform the rebalance (Power Up the STEEM I am not withdrawing).

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Sort:  

This seems extremely complicated. Could you say a word about resteeming? I tried to resteem once and the system asked me whether I'm sure I want to do that. Why, does it cost me SBD or reputation or something to resteem ?
And what about reputation how does reputation work and what good it is ?
And the August 2017 whitepaper mentions the ability to vote down an article but I don't see how that could be done ...
So many questions ...

Resteeming

Resteeming a post puts the post in your blog and makes it available to everyone following you, just as though you posted it yourself.
It used to be that you were only allowed so many blog posts a day before they were demonitized. That is no longer the case.
Now, resteeming a blog post simply gives the blog post more exposure on SteemIt and if you curated the post, it increases the potential curation reward.

Reputation

You earn reputation by having steemians with a higher reputation score upvoting your posts.
At one time it was proposed that the reputation system would be used to parse out advertisements. Those with a higher reputation score would be more sought after by advertisers. I'm not sure where that idea has gone. I have not heard anything about advertisements on SteemIt in a long time. I think that is why a lot of people associate affiliation links in their blog post when appropriate.
Today there are people who filter by reputation score and only upvote those people with high reputations. These are usually voting bots. The bots upvote blog posts by people with high reputation scores because they typically earns a higher payout that than those with less reputation.

Down Voting

This is a touchy topic. Next to each post is [-] symbol. Click on this to down vote a post. However, you must be ready for retaliation.
Most people will down vote a post then not leave a reason why they down voted the post. This can be frustrating to the author. Because down voting reduces the overall payout for the post (for the author and curators) and lowers the author's reputation score.
I very, very, rarely down vote a post. But when I do, I always leave a reason why I down voted the post in a comment.

I hope that answers your questions.

I am thinking about writing an update to this blog post after I work out a new Power Down system that gives me an active income and steadily increases my STEEM Power.

Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

Thank you! You seem very knowledgeable so please excuse me for not letting you go so easily :)

First, I'm not sure I understand the concept of "curation". It's being used in the whitepaper as well. What do you mean by "you curated the post"? What does it imply: voting, commenting, both (with AND), something else?

I hope they don't bring advertisments on Steemit, it would ruin it for me

Down voting: I don't see no [-] sign next to a post ... when there is one (next to comments) hovering the mouse above it says "Collapse/Expand". I do see a "flag" sign though - maybe that is the downvoting? Flagging content as inappropriate ?

Thanks
P.S. Would it be too much asking that you read one of my articles, see if you like it, maybe ? I did work to write them and I am pretty proud of them and a bit frustrated that nobody seems to care ... :)

Curating

Depending on the amount of STEEM Power you have, you do not want to upvote a post before it is at least 30 minutes old. (This rule may change to 15 minutes with the next STEEM blockchain hard fork.)
The rewards you see on a post is split 75/25 between the author and curators.
Curation also depends on your voting power. I do not generally let it fall below 90%.
You can monitor that from the following tool:
https://www.steemworld.org/@sorin.cristescu

Curators of a post share in the curation reward (25% of the payout) based on voting power and STEEM Power at the time of the upvote.
Down votes do not earn anything for the curator.

Down Voting Flag

You are correct. The flag is for down voting.

I have seen flagging (or down voting) used when a person uses inappropriate tags on their post. For example, an author sees that posts using the #photography tag get high payouts on average. So the author uses the #photography tag on a post that has nothing to do with photography. Flagging the post and letting the author know that use of the photography tag was not correct for the post is an appropriate use of down voting. Please note, this was only an example.

I have a bit of voting power to spare right now, so I will take a look at your blog.

Steem on,
Mike

Ok, I thought all of the current revenues are interrupted while powering down... So I'm wrong, for good 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44