You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Living Forever a Good Idea?

in #immortality6 years ago

In order for me to live close to 100, I am 55 now, I would need a heart replacement. I was diagnosed a few years ago with heart failure and take medication that keeps me alive. So this brings up the question of organ repleacements. Will organs need to be replaced over time like worn parts in a car? Will replacement organs come from donors, grown specially or through 3D printing or some other means?

Sort:  

Sorry the hear about your condition.

Ultimately the most important organ, the brain, can't be replaced and fixing brain deterioration e.g. alzheimers is the next step. The brain needs to be able to last forever to live forever. Other organs though I believe can be grown it's just ethics that are stopping it atm as scientists could easily clone a human and then take the clones heart or any other feature.

I agree, replacement limbs and arteries plus many other things to consider before longevity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44