The search for immortality: "If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you?" John 21:22

in #immortality2 years ago

The concept of Immortality is present in the oldest religions and philosophies in the world, for example in Taoism or Judaism. Immortality was considered a mystical secret and there were many legends on the subject, the search for immortality was one of the motivations of Alexander the Great in his conquest of Persia, and also many chinese emperors searched for it with great eagerness, this comes almost to very recent times, many Spanish conquerors when they arrived in America not only came for the "Dorado", a hidden city full of gold, but also for the fountain of eternal youth that was said it was in America.
The New Testament tells us about the search for immortality and the gift of eternal life, the apostle Paul on this subject is very specific: "To those who by persistence in doing good seek glory, honor and immortality, he will give eternal life" Romans 2:7.
We see the concept of immortality in the Book of Wisdom, it is very likely that Paul knew this book: "Immortality will bring you close to God" Wisdom 6:19.
Jesus also in his teachings alludes to a life that cannot be lost: "Jesus said to her, ´I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die" John 11:25-26.
Some passages in the gospel would explain that Jesus was in possession of this mystical knowledge (the immortality), when he suggests that one of his disciples would not die:
"Peter turned and saw that the disciple whom Jesus loved was following them. (This was the one who had leaned back against Jesus at the supper and had said, ´Lord, who is going to betray you?´) When Peter saw him, he asked, ´Lord, what about him?´
Jesus answered, ´If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? You must follow me.´ Because of this, the rumor spread among the believers that this disciple would not die. But Jesus did not say that he would not die; he only said, ´If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you?´" John 21:20-23.
The search for immortality. If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you. John 21,22.jpg
No sacred text tells us exactly what immortality is or how to achieve it, but the most accurate interpretation is that immortality is for spiritual masters a form of longevity, like Methuselah who lived nearly a thousand years.
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58