What Are You?

in #immigration6 years ago (edited)

bryce-barker-73665-unsplash.jpg

A Question To Immigrants In America.

  • What Are You?
    Did you come to America to be in America, or did you come to America to be an American? Think on it for a bit, and decide. There is no wrong decision. But there is also no middle ground. You are either an American, or NOT.

Thank you for your time.

Sort:  

Hi there, we are new on steemit and you are the first article that I am responding to! I came to the states when I was 12, I came from a very poor island, Haiti. My parents brought us here for a better life and I am forever grateful. After many years living in America, it became home to me. While I try to hold on to my Haitian culture, it is a lot more challenging to do so while living in America. Almost a year ago, I became an American. So, to answer your question, I was brought to America for a better life in America and then, I became an American, because this country is home for me!

Congrats on gaining citizenship. Your story is like so many I have heard before. Just remember, You are now an American, BUT that does not mean you must abandon your culture nor your heritage.

Agreed, friend! I am doing the best that I can keep it and share it with our children :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82